ICC T20 World Cup 2021: Ravi Rampaul Returns After 6 Years As West Indies Announce Their Squad For The Tournament
ICC T20 World Cup 2021: Ravi Rampaul Returns After 6 Years As West Indies Announce Their Squad For The Tournament

Cricket West Indies (CWI) Lead Selector Roger Harper announced the defending champions’ squad for the upcoming ICC T20 World Cup 2021 tournament to be held in UAE and Oman. The tournament will begin on October 17 and the final will be played on November 14. The matches will be held in Dubai, Abu Dhabi, Sharjah, and Oman.

West Indies are the only team to win the T20 World Cup twice- 2012 and 2016- both under the captaincy of Daren Sammy. This time the Men in Maroon will be captained by Kieron Pollard and will feature experienced players like Chris Gayle, Dwayne Bravo, Andre Russell, Lendl Simmons, and Andre Fletcher.

West Indies Team
West Indies Team (Image Credit: Twitter)

Roger Harper, CWI’s Lead Selector said: “The squad is one with good depth and strength in all departments. There is tremendous T20 experience along with World Cup-winning experience which should stand the team in good stead. This squad is made up of many world-beating players who, once knitted into a world-beating team, will be extremely difficult to beat. I expect the team to do very well and with the ‘rub of the green’ I think the team has a good chance of defending the title.”

However, the squad sees former West Indies captain Jason Holder included in the reserve players along with Sheldon Cottrell, Darren Bravo, and Akeal Hosein.

Ravi Rampaul Recalled To T20Is For The First Time After 2015; Roston Chase Gets Maiden T20I Callup

While the squad threw up some surprises, the most stunning one was the recall of fast bowler Ravi Rampaul for the first time since 2015. Rampaul was part of the 2012 T20 World Cup-winning team.  Also included in the main squad was Roston Chase, who earned his maiden T20I call-up for the West Indies.

Ravi Rampaul
Ravi Rampaul (Image Credit: Twitter)

Roger Harper, CWI selector said: “Ravi Rampaul is a highly experienced bowler who performed well in the last CG Insurance Super50 Cup and the current Hero CPL to date. He will boost the team’s wicket-taking options in the power-play and the middle phase and will provide another option for the death overs.

Roston Chase has shown that he is a very capable T20 player. He performed well in the CPL in 2020 and has been outstanding in the 2021 edition so far. He has shown the ability to knit the innings together while still scoring at a fast rate with a low dot-ball percentage. He will be an excellent foil for the explosive players in the team.”

West Indies have been drawn in Group 1 and will play five group games against England, South Africa, and Australia along with the winner of Round 1 Group A and the runner-up from Round 1 Group B. The defending champions will open their account against England in Dubai on October 23.

Chris Gayle
Chris Gayle. (Credits: Twitter)

West Indies squad for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021:

Kieron Pollard (C), Nicholas Pooran (VC), Fabian Allen, Dwayne Bravo, Roston Chase, Andre Fletcher, Chris Gayle, Shimron Hetmyer, Evin Lewis, Obed McCoy, Ravi Rampaul, Andre Russell, Lendl Simmons, Oshane Thomas, Hayden Walsh Jr.

Traveling reserves: Jason Holder,  Sheldon Cottrell, Darren Bravo, and Akeal Hosein.

Also Read: “Dreams Do Come True”: Suryakumar Yadav Reacts To His Selection In India’s T20 World Cup 2021 Squad