Indian Cricket Team
Team India [Image-BCCI]

Last Update on: September 18th, 2021 at 02:39 pm

Team India will go head-to-head against England and Australia in warm-up games prior to the start of the upcoming T20 World Cup, sources confirmed. The Star network will telecast the matches for the viewers.

India is slated to take on arch-rivals Pakistan on October 24 in their first encounter in the Super-12 stage. The team members would have arrived from the UAE with sufficient match practice having played in the IPL which will end on October 15.

T20 World Cup 2021, England Cricket Team
England Cricket Team. (Image source: Twitter)

Now, it has also been confirmed that the Virat Kohli-led side will face-off against 2016 finalist, England, and Australia. India will play against Eoin Morgan‘s men on October 18 and Aaron Finch and co. on October 20.

Yes, India will lock horns against England and Australia in warm-up games and they will be telecast on Star,” sources in the industry confirmed to the news agency, ANI.

Australia National Cricket Team
Australia National Cricket Team (Image Credit: Twitter)

The Aussies and the Englishmen are in Group 1 alongside South Africa and defending champions, West Indies. They will be joined by two more qualifiers and only two teams out of six from each group will make it to the semi-finals of the ICC event.

The Men in Blue on the other hand have a relatively easier league phase to get through. New Zealand and Afghanistan are the two teams aside from Pakistan and Kohli’s men will go into the league stage as favorites.

ICC T20I World Cup 2021 trophy
ICC T20I World Cup 2021 trophy (Image Credit: Twitter)

The semi-finals of the tournament will be held on November 10 and 11 followed by a two-day gap culminating in the final of the T20 World Cup. Team India, England, and West Indies have been largely touted as the favorites to grab the trophy.

India’s league stage fixtures

1) vs Pakistan – October 24 – Dubai – 7:30 PM IST

2) vs New Zealand – October 31 – Dubai – 7:30 PM IST

3) vs Afghanistan – November 3 – Abu Dhabi – 7:30 PM IST

4) vs Winner of Group B – November 5 – Dubai – 7:30 PM IST

5) vs Runner-up of Group A – November 8 – Dubai – 7:30 PM IST

India’s squad for the T20I World Cup

Virat Kohli (c), Rohit Sharma (vc), KL Rahul, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Rahul Chahar, Ravichandran Ashwin, Axar Patel, Varun Chakravarthy, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammad Shami.

Reserves: Shardul Thakur, Shreyas Iyer, Deepak Chahar.

Also Read – Virat Kohli Fought With The Selectors For Shikhar Dhawan’s Place In India vs England ODI Series- Reports