T20 World Cup 2021: Semifinals Schedule Announced
T20 World Cup 2021: Semifinals Schedule Announced

The semifinals schedule for the T20 World Cup has been finalized by the International Cricket Council (ICC) after the conclusion of the Super 12 match between Pakistan and Scotland. Tomorrow’s last group game between India and Namibia is a dead rubber.

We’re officially into the final week of the ongoing World Cup with just one group game and three knockout games remaining. A total of 41 matches have been played in the tournament and four teams – England, Australia, Pakistan, and New Zealand – have made it out of the groups and into the semifinals.

New Zealand vs Pakistan

The Super 12 stage was well contested and the only surprise is the early exit of firm favorites, India. Apart from that, the teams that were expected to make it to the knockouts have done so. Pakistan is the only unbeaten side in the tournament, having won five out of five Super 12 matches.

The Semifinal schedule for the T20 World Cup 2021

Semi-final 1: England v New Zealand at Abu Dhabi, 10 November, 7:30 pm IST (6:00 pm Local Time)
Semi-final 2: Pakistan v Australia at Dubai, 11 November, 7:30 pm IST (6:00 pm Local Time)

Liam Livingstone.


A reserve day is in place for both semifinals, as per the ICC. “Every effort will be made to complete the match on the scheduled day with any necessary reduction in overs taking place. Only if the minimum number of overs necessary to constitute a match (at least 5 overs per side) cannot be bowled on the scheduled day will the match be completed on the reserve day.”

“If a match starts on the scheduled day and overs are reduced following an interruption but no further play is possible, the match will resume on the reserve day at the point where the last ball was played,” the statement from ICC read.


Australia, T20 World Cup, Semifinals schedule

In Group 1, England, Australia, and South Africa had four wins in five matches but the Proteas net run rate was lesser than the other two which meant that they had to go back home despite a successful T20 World Cup campaign. Eoin Morgan‘s men took the top spot with the best net run rate in Group 1.

In Group 2, Pakistan nailed every opponent they faced and topped the group with five wins. New Zealand went through in second place with four wins out of five, while India currently has two wins and two losses and their final game against Namibia is inconsequential.

Also Read – T20 World Cup 2021: India Cancel Practice Session Ahead Of Final Match Against Namibia