Babar Azam and Virat Kohli
Babar Azam and Virat Kohli (Image Credit: Twitter)

The tickets for the marquee clash between archrivals India and Pakistan at the T20 World Cup were sold within hours after they went on sale on Sunday. Virat Kohli‘s and Babar Azam’s sides will face each other for their opening encounter of the tournament on October 24 in Dubai

According to a report on the website ‘Cricket Pakistan’, the seats in sections including General, General East, Premium, Pavilion East and Platinum, have all become unavailable on the Platinumlist, the website where the tickets are being sold for the T20 World Cup.

The ICC has decided that all venues – in Oman and the UAE – will be operating at approximately 70 percent of the maximum capacity.

India vs Pakistan
India vs Pakistan. Image Credits: Twitter

Fans had logged on to the website seconds after the ICC announced that the tickets were on sale. Many fans were placed in a queue with thousands of users ahead of them with the wait time said to be more than an hour.

By Sunday night, the only tickets which were available for purchase were Premium and Platinum tickets costing Dh 1,500 and Dh 2,600 respectively; as of Monday morning, they too became unavailable on Platinumlist.

India and Pakistan are clubbed alongside New Zealand, Afghanistan, and two other teams which will qualify from Round 1 through to in the Super 12 stage. Pakistan have defeated India in a World Cup encounter. The last time the two teams clashed was during the 2019 World Cup in England and the Men In Blue emerged as the winners.

India vs Pakistan
India vs Pakistan [Image-Getty]

India squad for T20 World Cup:

Virat Kohli (c), Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Rahul Chahar, Ravichandran Ashwin, Axar Patel, Varun Chakravarthy, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami.

Traveling reserves: Shreyas Iyer, Deepak Chahar and Shardul Thakur

Pakistan squad for T20 World Cup:

Babar Azam (C), Shadab Khan (VC), Asif Ali, Azam Khan, Haris Rauf, Hasan Ali, Imad Wasim, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Hafeez, Mohammad Hasnain, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Wasim Junior, Shaheen Afridi, Sohaib Maqsood

Traveling reserves: Usman Qadir, Fakhar Zaman, Shahnawaz Dahani

Also Read: ECB To Give Its Final Decision On The Ashes Tour By End Of This Week, Board Hints At Possibility Of Postponement