ICC T20 World Cup 2022 Trophy
ICC T20 World Cup 2022 Trophy. Image Credits: Twitter

According to a report in TOI, players testing positive for Covid-19 during the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022 will be allowed to participate in the games and no Covid-driven restrictions have been imposed on the teams.

The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022 commenced on October 16 with the group stage matches. The Super 12 round will commence on October 22 and the final is set to take place on November 13 at the Melbourne Cricket Ground.

ICC Teams  Rankings | ICC Players Rankings

All captains of T20 World Cup 2022
Photo Credit: (Twitter/T20 World Cup)

Eight teams, including two high-profile names – former champions West Indies and Sri Lanka – alongside Zimbabwe, Ireland, UAE, the Netherlands, Namibia and Scotland are battling it out for the 4 vacant spots in the Super 12 stage.

Meanwhile, reportedly there won’t be any mandatory testing during the eighth edition of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup.

“If a player tests positive for Covid-19 but feels well enough to play then he can play in a match. It will be done in consultation with the medical team. The infected players will need to follow protocols from the bio security advisory group like wearing masks and maintaining distance from his teammates,” a source told TOI on Sunday.

The new development will also make it easier for the participants to name replacements for infected players. A player who gets tested positive for Covid-19 and has been replaced can come back into the squad when he tests negative.

It’s a totally different dynamic – Pat Cummins on rule change in T20 World Cup 2022

Pat Cummins
Pat Cummins (Image: Twitter)

Australia National Cricket Team red-ball captain welcomed the rule change, saying it’s a completely different dynamic.

“It’s a totally different dynamic. The team went out for dinner last night and we actually were chatting about it, this is the first time we’ve done this for about three years,” Cummins told cricket.com.au. 

“It’s great fun. It’s one of the main things we all love about playing for your country – you get to go and see new places and experience different things,” he added. 

Meanwhile, the Group A winners and the second-placed team in Group B will join England, New Zealand, Australia and Afghanistan in Group 1 of the Super 12 stage of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022. Also, the Group B winners and the Group A runners-up will join India, Pakistan, South Africa and Bangladesh in Group 2.

ICC World Cup 2022
Photo Credits (Twitter)

Also Read: ICC T20 World Cup 2022: Explained – What Is The Impact Of Namibia’s Win Over Sri Lanka On India’s Group In T20 World Cup

Sonanchal Gautam

A Professional Wrestling And Hip-hop Enthusiast, Who Is Focused On Writing Cricket-related Stuff 6 Days A Week.