IND vs PAK: “Ye Toh Behosh Hain” – Salman Butt Slams PCB For T20 World Cup Squad Selection

Updated - 14 Oct 2022, 12:23 PM

Salman Butt
Salman Butt. (Image- AP Photo/K.M. Chaudary)

Former Pakistan National Cricket Team captain Salman Butt has bashed the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) selection committee for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022 squad selection.

The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022 is scheduled to begin on October 16 with the group stage matches. The Super 12 round will begin on October 22 and the final is set to take place on November 13 at the Melbourne Cricket Ground.

ICC Teams  Rankings | ICC Players Rankings

Salman Butt
Salman Butt (Image Credit: Twitter)

Pakistan National Cricket Team will lock horns with arch-rivals India National Cricket Team in their tournament opener on October 23 at the iconic Melbourne Cricket Ground.

Ahead of their World Cup opener, Babar Azam and Co. will participate in two warm-up matches against England National Cricket Team and Afghanistan National Cricket Team.

Pakistan recently faced a 3-4 home T20I series defeat against England and currently, they are involved in a tri-series in New Zealand.

Mohammad Haris doesn’t even have a score of 15 – Salman Butt

Mohammad Haris
Mohammad Haris. Image: Twitter

Former Pakistan captain Butt slammed the PCB for the selection of Mohammad Haris, the backup wicket-keeper, in the travelling reserves, saying that he failed to score even 15 runs in the National T20. Butt also asserted that Haris doesn’t have enough credentials to be part of Pakistan’s World Cup squad. Butt also criticised PCB for the selection of the out-of-form batter, Fakhar Zaman, in the reserves.

“Your second wicketkeeper Mohammad Haris is in travelling reserves. Fakhar Zaman is also in reserves, and he is not in form as well. Dahani is also in reserves. You picked Haris. He played 5-6 matches in National T20… he doesn’t even have a score of 15. He dropped three catches in one match,” Butt stated during a chat on Cric Bridge YouTube channel.

When the anchor of the show sarcastically stated that the PCB selection committee is sleeping, Butt came up with a savage reply and said that a person who is sleeping can wake up, but the selectors are unconscious.

“A sleeping person can wake up. Ye toh behosh hain (they are unconscious),” said Butt.

Salman Butt
Salman Butt (Image Credit: Twitter)

Pakistan’s T20 World Cup Squad: Babar Azam (c), Shadab Khan, Asif Ali, Haider Ali, Haris Rauf, Iftikhar Ahmed, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Hasnain, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Wasim, Naseem Shah, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Shan Masood, Usman Qadir. Standby Players: Fakhar Zaman, Mohammad Haris, Shahnawaz Dahani.

Also Read: PAK vs BAN: “It’s A Team Game”- Mohammad Rizwan After Mohammad Nawaz’s Blistering Knock



ICC T20 World Cup 2022 Mohammad Haris Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) Pakistan national cricket team Salman Butt Shahnawaz Dahani