India vs New Zealand Match Preview, ICC T20 World Cup 2022 Warm Up Match

Updated - 19 Oct 2022, 02:12 PM

India vs New Zealand
Image Source: Twitter

India and New Zealand take on each other in a warm-up game in Brisbane on October 19. The match starts at 1.30 pm IST which is 6 pm IST. India won their first warm-up game against the Aussies while the Kiwis lost to the Proteas.

The super 12 round begins on October 22 with the first match between Australia and New Zealand- the finalists of last year’s T20 World Cup. The ICC T20 World Cup 2022 final will be played on November 13.

Australia is the host and venue of the ICC T20 World Cup 2022. Hence, all the matches will take place at different stadiums spread across Australia. Australia is also the defending champions of the tournament who defeated New Zealand in the last year’s T20 World Cup final.

Australia vs New Zealand
Image Source: Twitter

India will play their opening game on October 23 against Pakistan. The IND vs PAK clash will be played at Melbourne Cricket Stadium. A total of 45 matches will take place during ICC T20 World Cup 2022. A total of 16 teams are part of the tournament.

India vs New Zealand Match Preview, ICC T20 World Cup 2022 Warm Up Match


Mohammed Shami
Photo Credit: (Twitter)

 The BCCI has made a few last-minute changes to the squad. Mohammed Shami has been named as Jasprit Bumrah’s replacement. He made the difference in the game taking three wickets in the last over and helping India win the game. Suryakumar Yadav and KL Rahul scored fifties. Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli would ideally like to get some runs in this second warm-up game and get into the Pakistan game confidently.

Ideally, the management should play their best XI in this game and give them plenty of match time to get themselves accustomed to the conditions.

India Squad

Rohit Sharma (Captain), KL Rahul (vice-captain), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Dinesh Karthik (wicket-keeper), Hardik Pandya, R. Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harshal Patel, Arshdeep Singh, Mohammed Shami.

Reserves – Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Siraj

New Zealand

Rohit Sharma and Kane Williamson (IND vs NZ)
Rohit Sharma and Kane Williamson (Credits: Twitter)

New Zealand were bowled out for just 98 in their first warm-up game against South Africa. None of the batters were able to score anything substantial. Martin Guptill scored 26 and Glenn Phillips scored 20. The bowlers did not have anything to play with in the first game.  

The Kiwis have had the wood over the Indians in the last few years. They defeated them in the 2016 T20 World Cup game. Next, they defeated them in the 2019 semifinal and also the IC Test Championship final. The Kiwis also defeated India in the last T20 World Cup game. This time around, the Indian team is far better prepared.

New Zealand

Kane Williamson (c), Tim Southee, Ish Sodhi, Mitchell Santner, Glenn Phillips, Jimmy Neesham, Daryl Mitchell, Adam Milne, Martin Guptill, Lachlan Ferguson, Devon Conway, Mark Chapman, Michael Bracewell, Trent Boult, Finn Allen

Also Read: ICC T20 World Cup 2022: Rohit Sharma Reflects Back On The 2007 WC Win And The Long Journey In T20I World Cups

Cricket Match Prediction|T20 World Cup Match Prediction|Today Match Fantasy Prediction|Fantasy Cricket Tips|Cricket News and Updates|Cricket Live Score


ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2022 ICC T20 World Cup 2022 India National Cricket Team New Zealand national cricket team