Shane Watson Names Babar Azam, Shaheen Afridi Among Five Players In T20 World Cup XI

Shane Watson (Image Credits: Twitter)
Shane Watson (Image Credits: Twitter)

Former Australian all-rounder Shane Watson picked five players from the present times as the starting players of the World T20I XI. 

The ICC T20 World Cup 2022 is just a couple of months away to watch the best teams across the globe compete for the coveted trophy. Hosts Australia are the defending champions and they are paired with New Zealand, England and Afghanistan in Group 1 of the Super 12 stage with two more teams to join them.

T20 World Cup 2022 trohpy
T20 World Cup 2022 trohpy (Credits: Twitter)

India, Pakistan, Bangladesh and South Africa will be part of Group 2 with two more teams coming from the qualifiers stage. 

Shane Watson names Babar Azam, David Warner in his five players’ list

Watson has named Pakistan captain Babar Azam and pace bowler Shaheen Afridi among five players in the team. Australia opener David Warner, England wicketkeeper-batter Jos Buttler and India’s middle-order specialist Suryakumar Yadav were part of Watson’s list. 

Babar finished the previous edition of the T20 World Cup as the leading run-scorer of the tournament. He slammed 303 runs in six innings at a strike rate of 126.25 and Warner was just 14 runs behind him, amassing 289 runs in seven innings. 

Rishabh Pant, Babar Azam
Rishabh Pant, Babar Azam. (Photo: Twitter)

Babar Azam is going to do very well in Australian conditions: Shane Watson 

Watson said the Pakistan captain will perform well in the farmer’s home conditions. 

First one I’d pick would be Babar Azam. He’s the No.1 T20I batsman in the world, and he just knows how to dominate. 

“It’s like he’s not even taking any risks, and he scores incredibly quickly against the best bowlers in the world.

“He’s going to do very well in Australian conditions (during the T20 World Cup) as well, as his technique is very much built for Australian conditions,” Watson said on ICC Review. 

The ICC T20 World Cup 2022 will be played between October 16 and November 13.

Also Read: ICC T20 World Cup 2022: Jasprit Bumrah’s Absence Will Be A Big Setback For India – Reetinder Singh Sodhi

Related Posts