ICC World Test Championship mace. PC- GettyImages-84615790
ICC World Test Championship mace. PC- GettyImages-84615790

ICC World Test Championship Points Table, WTC Table 2021-23. The second edition of the ICC World Test Championship (WTC 2021-23) started on August 4, 2021, and is scheduled to conclude on March 31, 2023.

India’s five-match Test series against England, the Pataudi Trophy, kick-started the second cycle of the ICC World Test Championship. That along with The Ashes are the only series that will feature five Test matches. Kane Williamson-led New Zealand are the defending champions.

IPL 2023 | India tour of Bangladesh 2022 | Dream11 Prediction | Fantasy Cricket Tips | Cricket Match Prediction Today | Cricket News | Cricket Live Score | Sri Lanka tour of India 2023 | New Zealand tour of India 2023

Kane Williamson
Kane Williamson. (Photo: AFP)

Australia currently grabs the top spot in ICC World Test Championship 2021-23 points table. Australia has the highest PCT of 72.73, after winning 7 Tests and losing 1 out of 11 (3 draws). South Africa arrives next with a PCT of 60.0, winning 6 games and losing 4 out of 10.

Sri Lanka and India take the 3rd and 4th spot respectively in ICC World Test Championship 2021-23 points table. Sri Lanka has 53.33 PCT after winning 5 and losing 4 games out of 10 (1 draw).

IPL 2023 Auction | IND vs BAN 2022 | India vs Bangladesh 2022 | India National Cricket Team | IND vs SL 2023 | India vs Sri Lanka 2023 | IND vs NZ 2023 | India vs New Zealand 2023

Read More  Watch: Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill hilariously imitate Kuldeep Yadav's batting style

India closely follows them with a PCT of 52.08 by winning 6 and losing 4 games out of 12 (2 draws). Pakistan have played 9 Tests in ICC World Test Championship 2021-23 so far, winning 4 games, losing 2, and drawing 2. Pakistan takes the 5th spot with a PCT of 51.85. West Indies who have played 10 Tests and lost 4, won 4, and drew 2, take the 6th spot with a PCT of 45.

Australia Are Seated Atop The WTC Standings After Defeating West Indies And Are Followed By South Africa And Sri Lanka

Australia trounced West Indies by 164 runs in the first Test in Perth on Sunday. Off-spinner Nathan Lyon starred with a six-wicket haul in the second innings, thereby folding the visitors on 333. With a points percentage of 72.73, Australia have extended its lead atop ICC World Test Championship 2021-23 standings. West Indies PCT has taken a heavy beating.

Australia whipped 598/4d, riding on double centuries from Marnus Labuschagne (204) and Steve Smith (200*). Travis Head (95-ball 99) put up a brisk show too. In reply, WI managed only 283 with openers Tagenarine Chanderpaul and Kraigg Brathwaite scoring fifties each. Marnus Labuschagne’s ton in the 2nd innings powered Australia to 182/2d, thereby setting a target of 498. WI started well but their middle order faltered to surrender the duel.

Marnus Labuschagne
Marnus Labuschagne. Image: Twitter

Australia (72.73) still rule the roost with seven wins, one loss, and three draws (96 points) and are playing their fourth series. Australia will host South Africa (three Tests), followed by an away tour of India (four Tests). South Africa (60) follow suit, with six wins and four losses. They will have to muster wins against Australia and later West Indies (two Tests) at home.

Read More  Chris Gayle lauds Yashasvi Jaiswal as he dismisses Ben Duckett's ‘we should take credit for India’s aggressive cricket’ remark

West Indies registered a dip in their PCT from 50 to 45 post the defeat in the opening Test of the two-match series. West Indies have accumulated four wins, as many losses, and two draws in the 2021-23 cycle. The Kraigg Brathwaite-led side will look to level the scenes in the decider in Adelaide, starting December 8.

Sri Lanka (53.33) are seated third after leveling the home series against Australia and Pakistan. They will play New Zealand in a two-match away Test series in March 2023 to conclude their journey in the WTC cycle 2021-23. The maximum PCT they can attain is 61.10, which means, they will have to rely on lower-ranked teams in order to crawl into the top two.

India, Pakistan, West Indies, England, And New Zealand Occupies The 4th, 5th, 6th, 7th And 8th Spot Respectively; Bangladesh Are Last

India (52.08) occupies the fourth spot (Win 6, Losses 4, Draw 2). They will face Bangladesh (two Tests) and later host Australia in February-March 2023 (four Tests). Pakistan (51.85) have pocketed four wins, three losses, and two draws. They are underway a three-match series against England at home. Pakistan can finish with a PCT of 69.05, provided they beat England and New Zealand (two Tests).

Following the 1st Test between Australia and West Indies, neither of the two teams changed their position in the ICC WTC Points Table. While Australia remained at the top spot, West Indies remained in sixth. The defeat, however, has made West Indies’ task of qualifying for the WTC final tough. 

New Zealand with the ICC WTC Mace 2019-21 [Image- Getty]
New Zealand with the ICC WTC Mace 2019-21 [Image- Getty]

England (38.6) are seated seventh. They have seven wins, eight losses, and four draws in the concurrent cycle. New Zealand, the inaugural WTC champions, stooped to the eighth spot after the 3-0 whitewash against England in June. With two wins, six losses, and a draw, NZ have mustered a PCT of 25.93 and the best they can improve is 48.72.

Read More  RCB Women vs UP Warriorz Weather Report Live Today And Pitch Report Of Chinnaswamy Stadium In Bengaluru- WPL 2024, Match 2

Bangladesh saw a dip in their PCT from 14.81 to 13.33 after the 2-0 beating versus WI in June. They have one win, eight losses, and a draw across five series. They will be gearing up to host India for two Tests, starting December 14.

ICC World Test Championship (WTC) 2021-23

ICC WTC 2021-23 Updated Points Table

Position Team Matches Won Lost Draw Points PCT
1 Australia 11 7 1 3 96 72.73
2 South Africa 10 6 4 72 60.0
3 Sri Lanka 10 5 4 1 64 53.33
4 India 12 6 4 2 75 52.08
5 Pakistan 9 4 3 2 56 51.85
6 West Indies 10 4 4 2 54 45.0
7 England 19 7 8 4 88 38.60
8 New Zealand 9 2 6 1 28 25.93
9 Bangladesh 10 1 6 1 16 13.33

For slow over-rates, teams lose one championship point for each over-short. Teams are ranked by the percentage of points won.

Metric Points available per match Percentage of points
Win 12 100
Tie 6 50
Draw 4 33.33
Loss 0 0

No matter the number of matches in a series, a team will earn 12 points for every win. Like the previous edition, the standings in WTC 2021-23 will be determined by the percentage of available points collected.

Matches in the series Total points available
2 24
3 36
4 48
5 60

The ICC says this system ‘allows the relative performance of teams to be compared at any point in time, meaning the cancellation of any matches or series for any reason does not directly impact the points table.’ Note that there are penalties involved for slow over-rate as well. Teams can be docked one point for every fall behind.

Virat Kohli | Rohit Sharma | Rishabh Pant | KL Rahul | Suryakumar Yadav | Sanju Samson | Shreyas Iyer | Yuzvendra Chahal | Jasprit Bumrah