New Zealand Cricket Team, ICC World Test Championship Final
New Zealand celebrate winning the ICC World Test Championship Final (Image Credit: Getty)

Sri Lanka opened their account in the World Test Championship (WTC) 2021-23 points table with a resounding 187-run victory over the visiting West Indies side in Galle.

They move to the top of the table, having a 100% win rate, with India in second place. Each win in this edition will give 12 points, while a tie gives 6 points, and a draw will see the two teams split 4 points each.

Sri Lanka
Sri Lanka (Image: Twitter)

The ongoing Sri Lanka – West Indies series is only the third of this WTC 2021-23 edition so far. It comprises two Tests, and the second will take place on November 29 in Galle. The Windies played an earlier 2-match series against Pakistan, where they drew 1-1.

They sit in fourth place with a win percentage of 33.33, while Pakistan is in third place with a 50 per cent win rate. England currently sits at the bottom of the table as they are trailing India by a 1-2 margin in a series that will end next year.

Pakistan cricket team
(Credits: Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB))

Each team will play four home and four away series in the WTC 2021-23 cycle, and the qualification criteria for the finals will be based on the win percentage and not the points. The previous cycle saw a similar concept, and the top two teams, India and New Zealand qualified to play the finals at Lord’s, which the Kiwis won.

WTC Points Table After 1st Match Between Sri Lanka And West Indies

WTC Points Table
WTC Points Table (Image: ICC)

Also, Read – Ashes 2021-22: Michael Vaughan Dropped From BBC After His Involvement In Yorkshire Racism Matter