Deepak Hooda. PC- Getty
Deepak Hooda. (Photo: Getty)

India won the two-match T20I series 2-0 after a thrilling four-run win in the second T20I in Dublin and Deepak Hooda was named the Player of the Match for his amazing 104 in the match and Player of Series for his brilliant knocks of 47* and this century.

India batted first after Hardik Pandya won the toss for the second time in a row. They batted in the fifth gear throughout the innings and put on 225/7 in 20 overs.

Not many gave Ireland a chance to chase down such a huge total, but thanks to Andy Balbirnie and Paul Stirling doing the groundwork in the chase for Ireland with 72 runs in the powerplay overs did the opposite. Stirling fell for 40 in 17 balls, while Balbirnie continued and made 60 in 37 balls with 7 sixes and 3 fours.

Andy Balbirnie. PC- Getty
Andy Balbirnie. PC- Getty

India then pulled back the match a bit despite Harry Tector with 39, George Dockrell (34* in 16 balls with 3 fours and 3 sixes), and Mark Adair (23* in 12 balls) giving the visitors a huge scare. But in the end, India won by 4 runs and pocketed the series 2-0.

Deepak Hooda Win The Player Of The Match And Series

Deepak Hooda proved to be the difference in this match as he followed up his 47* with an amazing 104 with 6 sixes and 9 fours. He added 176 runs for the second wicket with Sanju Samson who made 77 in 42 balls with 9 fours and 4 sixes, as India made 225/7.

Sanju Samson Deepak Hooda
Sanju Samson Deepak Hooda PC- ESPN

After being named the Player of the Match for his 104, Deepak Hooda said: “To be honest, I was coming from a good IPL and wanted to follow the same performance. Happy with my intent. I like playing in that manner (aggressive) and these days I am batting up the order so getting some time. Sanju is my childhood friend, always good to bat with him. Thank you to fans, the way they came and supported us.”

India will next be seen in white-ball cricket against England in a series of 3 ODIs and 3 T20Is in July.

Also Read: ENG vs IND: Shardul Thakur Must Be Picked As The 4th Seamer For The Fifth Test – Ajit Agarkar