Virat Kohli
Virat Kohli. Credits: ICC

Indian batsman Virat Kohli has reportedly not made any formal requests for a leave ahead of the South Africa ODI series. A BCCI official revealed the same in a statement after reports emerged that the 32-year-old wanted to skip the 3-match ODI series.

Kohli and co. will be touring South Africa for a 3-match Test series followed by a 3-match ODI series. While Kohli will lead the side in the Tests, it isn’t confirmed whether he will be available for the 50-over format series.

As of now, Kohli hasn’t sent any formal request to skip the ODIs to either BCCI president Sourav Ganguly or secretary Jay Shah. If something is decided at a later date or God forbid, he sustains an injury, then it’s a different matter,” a BCCI official was quoted as saying to PTI on the grounds of anonymity.

India cricket team, Virat Kohli
Virat Kohli. Image Credits: Twitter

Kohli was recently removed as the ODI captain despite the right-hander’s desire to continue as the skipper. Rohit Sharma was officially appointed as the ODI captain as well, thereby giving him full charge of the white-ball format. However, Kohli will continue to be an integral part of the team in limited-overs cricket.

As things stand today, he is playing the three ODIs on January 19, 21, 23. The skipper is travelling with his family. But yes, if he feels bubble fatigue after the Test series and wants to take a break, he would definitely inform the chairman of selectors and secretary (Shah), who is the convenor of the selection committee,” the official added.

(Image Credit: Twitter)

The squad for the Test series has been announced. Rohit, unfortunately, sustained an injury during a training session which has ruled him out of the Test series. In his stead, Mayank Agarwal might get to open with his close friend, KL Rahul. Ravindra Jadeja, Shubman Gill, and Axar Patel are the other regulars missing from the Test squad.

India’s squad for the South Africa Test series:

Virat Kohli (Captain), Rohit Sharma (vice-captain), KL Rahul, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Shreyas Iyer, Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wk), Wriddhiman Saha (wk), R Ashwin, Jayant Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Mohd. Shami, Umesh Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Shardul Thakur, Md. Siraj.

Also Read – Cricket South Africa Is Excited For The Series Against India And It Will Be A Closely Contested Series, Says Lawson Naidoo