IND vs ZIM: Match Preview – India Tour of Zimbabwe 2022, 2nd ODI

India vs Zimbabwe 2nd ODI
Photo Credit: (Twitter)

India take on Zimbabwe in the second ODI in Harare on Saturday, July 20. The visitors won the first ODI by 10 wickets with Shikhar Dhawan and Shubman Gill shining with the bat. The victory was also India’s 13th between 2013-2022, their most consecutive wins against any opponent. 

The game was shaped up by Deepak Chahar‘s opening spell on his return. He took three for 27 as Zimbabwe was eventually bowled out for 189. Dhawan and Gill then put up a 192-run stand, their second highest in 10-wicket wins against any team. The three-match series is now poised for India to win the second ODI and the series. The hosts need to play out of their skin to win the second ODI. 

Deepak Chahar
Deepak Chahar. (Photo: Twitter)

IND vs ZIM: Match Preview – India Tour of Zimbabwe 2022, 2nd ODI


Shikhar Dhawan, Shubman Gill
Shikhar Dhawan, Shubman Gill. (Photo: Twitter)

Deepak Chahar, Shikhar Dhawan, Shubman Gill and Axar Patel performed in the first game. Skipper KL Rahul did not get his chance with the bat. Heading into the second ODI, it will be interesting to see if India makes any changes and whether Rahul himself gets back to opening the batting.

The Indian fans criticised the management for playing with three keepers in the XI and therefore not allowing Rahul Tripathi a game to make his debut. It will be interesting to see if he gets a game on Saturday. Thus there are places up for grabs and room for the experiment as India looks forward to the Asia Cup and T20 World Cup. 

India Squad 

KL Rahul (Captain), Shikhar Dhawan (vice-captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, Deepak Hooda, Rahul Tripathi, Ishan Kishan (wicket-keeper), Sanju Samson (wicket-keeper), Shardul Thakur, Kuldeep Yadav, Axar Patel, Avesh Khan, Prasidh Krishna, Mohd Siraj, Deepak Chahar, Shahbaz Ahmed


Zimbabwe. (Photo: Twitter)

The hosts played mediocre cricket after their good performance against Bangladesh at home. The talented Indian bowlers threw a different challenge at them that they could not counter. The experienced Sikandar Raza and Sean Williams were only a shadow of themselves in the first ODI. The experienced players need to put their hand up if Zimbabwe are to beat this talented Indian side with rich potential. 

Zimbabwe Squad 

 Regis Chakabva (captain), Ryan Burl, Tanaka Chivanga, Bradley Evans, Luke Jongwe, Innocent Kaia, Takudzwanashe Kaitano, Clive Madande, Wessely Madhevere, Tadiwanashe Marumani, John Masara, Tony Munyonga, Richard Ngarava, Victor Nyauchi, Sikandar Raza, Milton Shumba, Donald Tiripano

Also Read: IND vs ZIM: Every Innings Is Like A War For Shikhar Dhawan Because So Many Players Are Waiting – Mohammad Kaif

Related Posts