Rohit Sharma, Kieron Pollard
Rohit Sharma, Kieron Pollard. (Photo: IPL)

Mumbai Indians (MI) captain Rohit Sharma has revealed that the West Indian all-rounder, Kieron Pollard, himself came up to the management and said that he will sit out of the playing XI ahead of their game against the Chennai Super Kings (CSK).

After winning the toss, Rohit decided to bowl first. There were changes expected in the MI side, which has been eliminated from the race for playoffs. However, it came as a surprise when the MI veteran, Pollard was the one who was dropped.

The 35-year-old Rohit went on to reveal that Pollard was ready to be benched in order to test out other prospects. Pollard has been in terrible form in the IPL 2022 season with no significant contributions and he was replaced by Tristan Stubbs.

CSK vs MI: Kieron Pollard Was The One Who Came Up To Us And Was Ready To Sit Out - Rohit Sharma
Kieron Pollard (Image Credit: IPL)
Kieron Pollard (Image Credit: IPL)

We will field first. It’s the nature of the ground, and what suits our team. Nothing has worked for us this season. Keeping an eye on the future, Pollard is out and Stubbs is in. Shokeen comes in for Ashwin. He (Pollard) was the one who came up to us and he was ready for it.

We want to try out a few players, got to see what they have to offer. Looks (like) a good track, hope it plays well throughout the 40 overs. It’s brilliant to play against Chennai, it’s always like that. We need to try and win the game,” Rohit said at the toss.

Kieron Pollard, Mumbai Indians, IPL 2022
Kieron Pollard (Image Credit: IPL)

Pollard, who is one of MI’s four retentions, has scored just 144 runs in 11 matches at a terrible average of 14.4 with a high score of 25. What made it worse for the Windies batter was his strike rate which is a low 107.46.

Chennai Super Kings (Playing XI):

Ruturaj Gaikwad, Devon Conway, Robin Uthappa, Ambati Rayudu, Moeen Ali, Shivam Dube, MS Dhoni(w/c), Dwayne Bravo, Maheesh Theekshana, Simarjeet Singh, Mukesh Choudhary

Mumbai Indians (Playing XI):

Rohit Sharma(c), Ishan Kishan(w), Tilak Varma, Tristan Stubbs, Ramandeep Singh, Tim David, Daniel Sams, Kumar Kartikeya, Hrithik Shokeen, Jasprit Bumrah, Riley Meredith

Also Read – MSK Prasad Says Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Dinesh Karthik, Rahul Tewatia Are His Top Four Players For The Finisher’s Role In T20 World Cup