MS Dhoni and Chennai Super Kings. Photo- BCCI
MS Dhoni and Chennai Super Kings. Photo- BCCI

Four-time IPL champions Chennai Super Kings (CSK) are placed in group B in IPL 2022 along with SRH, RCB, PBKS and GT. The BCCI on Friday (February 25) confirmed that the season will be held between March 26 to May 29. 55 matches will be held in Maharashtra while 15 matches will be held in Pune.

The BCCI further divided the teams into two groups. Chennai Super Kings and Mumbai Indians have been placed in two different groups along with the other teams.

Now, as per reports in the Times of India, MS Dhoni’s men will start their practice for the season from March 2 in Surat. Apart from Dhoni, Ravindra Jadeja, Dwayne Bravo and a few other cricketers will also be a part of the camp.

MS Dhoni, Dwayne Bravo
MS Dhoni, Dwayne Bravo. Image Credits: Twitter

“Top cricketing stars like MS Dhoni, Dwayne Bravo, Ravindra Jadeja and other national and international stars will be part of the practice camp. The cricket franchise selected Surat as we have developed pitches using the same soil as it is in Mumbai,” Nainesh Desai, the cricket secretary of Surat District Cricket Association, told TOI.

Chennai Super Kings had an available salary purse of Rs. 48 crores during IPL 2022 auction. Ahead of the auction, the IPL 2021 champions spent Rs. 42 crores out of their 90 crores to retain 4 players in their squad.

The four-time IPL champions retained Ravindra Jadeja (16 Cr) MS Dhoni (12 Cr) Moeen Ali (8 Cr) and Ruturaj Gaikwad (6 Cr).

Chennai Super Kings Placed In Group B For IPL 2022

Chennai Super Kings, CSK, IPL 2021
Photo Credit: IPL 2022.

They added as many as 21 players in the IPL 2022 mega auction. They have bought back a few of their players like Bravo, Robin Uthappa and Ambati Rayudu at the auction and lost out on getting back Faf du Plessis and Josh Hazlewood.

Chennai Super Kings IPL 2022 Complete Squad

MS Dhoni, Ravindra Jadeja, Moeen Ali, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ambati Rayadu, Dwayne Bravo, Robin Uthappa, Deepak Chahar, KM Asif, Shivam Dube, Maheesh Theekshana, Rajvardhan Hangargekar, Simarjeet Singh, Devon Conway, Dwaine Pretorius, Mitch Santner, Adam Milne, Subhranshu Senapati, Prashant Solanki, Mukesh Choudhary, C Hari Nishaanth, N Jagadeesan, Chris Jordan, Bhagath Varma

Also Read: IPL 2022 Group Division System Explained

Anshuman Roy

A Hardcore Cricket Enthusiast Having Previously Worked With Cricwizz, Circle of Cricket, Times Now, The Quint, Cricfit and Now With Cricket Addictor.