Wankhede Stadium, IPL, IPL 2021
Wankhede Stadium (Photo Source: Twitter)

The IPL 2022 season saw the return of crowds after two seasons but the limit was capped off at 25%. However, the league’s official ticketing partner has now stated that the capacity has been increased to 50% starting from April 6.

The league is being held across four venues – Wankhede Stadium, Brabourne stadium in Mumbai, DY Patil stadium in Navi Mumbai, and Maharashtra Cricket Association stadium in Gahunje in Pune. Each stadium was allowed a quarter of its original capacity considering covid regulations.

However, with the decrease in the number of cases and with few governments removing the mandate on masks, the BCCI might have seen it fit to allow larger crowds as the league stage moves ahead.

DY Patil Stadium. Photo- Twitter, IPL 2022
DY Patil Stadium. Photo- Twitter

Ticket sales for the next set of matches are live even as the BCCI has announced an increase in stadium occupancy to 50%, which was earlier capped at 25% thereby extending the opportunity for many more fans across India and beyond to experience the IPL action live in the stadia,” BookMyShow claimed in a media release.

Dwayne Bravo becomes leading wicket-taker after CSK’s Game 2 in IPL 2022 season

Chennai Super Kings all-rounder Dwayne Bravo has become the leading wicket-taker in the history of the IPL, going past former Mumbai Indians (MI) and current Rajasthan Royals (RR) bowling coach, Lasith Malinga.

Malinga had claimed 170 wickets in his career but Bravo has overtaken the tally during CSK’s game 2 of the IPL 2022 season against Lucknow Super Giants (LSG).

Dwayne Bravo
Dwayne Bravo. (Photo: IPL)

Bravo and Malinga are at the top while Amit Mishra, Piyush Chawla, and Harbhajan Singh occupy the rest of the top five places on the all-time wicket-taker list in the IPL history.

Also Read –  I Worry For The First Time About The Future Of Test Cricket – David Lloyd On The Emergence Of Lucrative T20 Tournaments