Harshal Patel
Harshal Patel (Image Credits: Twitter)

Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) pacer Harshal Patel aka Purple Patel has equaled Dwayne Bravo’s record of most wickets in an Indian Premier League (IPL) season.

Harshal Patel had a dream run in the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2021. Under Virat Kohli, he shined like never before and became the biggest positive for the side in the tournament, In both the legs of the Indian Premier League 2021 he was equally effective and got crucial breakthroughs for the team.

Harshal Patel
(Image Credit: Twitter)

The 30-year-old achieved everything he wanted whether it is a hat-trick or a 5-wicket haul, Harshal achieved every milestone in the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2021.

Harshal Patel Equals Dwayne Bravo With 32 Wickets

Harshal Patel
(Image Credit: Twitter)

Harshal finished off with 32 wickets under his belt in the Eliminator match of Indian Premier League 2021 against Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) which Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) lost. Harshal Patel bagged 32 wickets at an average of 14.34 economy of 8.14 and an exceptional strike rate of 10.5.

The Chennai Super Kings (CSK) pacer Dwayne Bravo scalped 32 wickets in Indian Premier League (IPL) 2013. Bravo bagged his wickets at an average 15.5 economy 3 7.95 and strike rate of 11.7.

Notably, Bravo completed 32 wickets in 18 games and 62.3 overs. On the other hand, Harshal Patel picked his wickets in just 15 games and 56.2 overs. Patel almost surpassed the Chennai Super Kings (CSK) pacer but Devdutt Padikkal dropped a catch which resulted in Harshal Patel failing to achieve the 33 wickets milestone.

IPL 2021: Harshal Patel Equals Dwayne Bravo's Record Of Most Wickets In An IPL Season With 32 Wickets
However, Harshal Patel is now the Indian bowler with the most wickets in a single Indian Premier League (IPL) season. Also, he is the only uncapped bowler to grab these many wickets in an Indian Premier League (IPL) season.

Meanwhile, other than Harshal and Bravo, South African pacer Kagiso Rabada is the bowler with 30 wickets in an IPL season, following Rabada in the list are Lasith Malinga and James Faulkner with 28 wickets each in 2011 and 2013 respectively.

Also Read: Sunil Narine Bamboozles AB de Villiers Sneaking Through His Gate