IPL 2023 Pic Credits: Twitter
IPL 2023 Pic Credits: Twitter

Reliance is reportedly attempting to disrupt the live sports streaming business with its plans to free digital broadcasts of the 2023 Indian Premier League (IPL) season.

This follows Reliance’s free live streaming of the FIFA World Cup on the JioCinema app last year.

IPL 2023 | Sri Lanka tour of India 2023 | Dream11 Prediction | Fantasy Cricket Tips | Cricket Match Prediction Today | Cricket News | Cricket Live Score | New Zealand tour of India 2023 | Australia tour of India 2023

IPL 2023
Photo by Arjun Singh / Sportzpics for IPL

This development follows a similar approach that Viacom18 tried by offering free FIFA World Cup 2022 broadcasts on Reliance’s JioCinema App. It became popular since the matches were aired on the app and on TV networks like Sports18 and Sports18 HD.

Based on a report in The Hindu Businessline, Reliance-owned Viacom18, which paid a staggering sum of Rs 23,758 crore for the digital media rights to IPL seasons 2023 through 2027, is looking into a number of options to carry out the same strategy—free streaming—for IPL.

IPL 2023 | IND vs SL 2023 | India vs Sri Lanka 2023 | India National Cricket Team | IND vs NZ 2023 | India vs New Zealand 2023 | IND vs AUS 2023 | India vs Australia 2023

The report further mentioned that Reliance might provide free goods to corner the market.

IPL n 2023
IPL Auction 2023. Image: Twitter

If this occurs, the IPL will be shown for the first time without a fee. The goal of Viacom18 is to challenge Disney-Star, a rival that still owns the DTH rights to the league.

The IPL will be held in its original format :

The next Indian Premier League is anticipated to be more popular than before. The upcoming season will undoubtedly feature plenty of exciting matchups with 10 teams playing 18 games each. The competition will be held in its original format and is anticipated to last for over 75 days. Each side will play two games: one at home and one away.

IPL 2023
IPL 2023 Pic Credits: Twitter

The Indian Premier League, which began in 2008, will be in its sixteenth season this year. On December 23, 2022, Kochi hosted the mini-auctions for the upcoming season. The IPL now features ten teams. Teams were split into two groups last year, but this year the format will be the same. The schedule for the following edition has not yet been released.

Also Read: Twitter Reacts As KL Rahul, Bowlers Help India Clinch Series vs Sri Lanka With A Victory In 2nd ODI At Eden Gardens

Virat Kohli | Rohit Sharma | Rishabh Pant | KL Rahul | Suryakumar Yadav | Sanju Samson | Shreyas Iyer | Yuzvendra Chahal | Jasprit Bumrah