India vs New Zealand, 2021: 2nd T20I, Ranchi – Toss Report
India vs New Zealand, 2021: 2nd T20I, Ranchi – Toss Report

After the conclusion of the first T20I in Jaipur, India and New Zealand now move on to the second T20I set to be played at the Jharkhand State Cricket Association (JSCA) International Stadium Complex in Ranchi.

India got off on the right note in the first game, ticking all the boxes. The pace trio of Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Siraj, and Deepak Chahar looked good although the latter was a bit expensive. Veteran off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin had a great day with the ball, ending with figures of 2/23 in four overs.

Ravichandran Ashwin
Ravichandran Ashwin. Credits: Twitter

The run chase was quite smooth until the final stages but Rishabh Pant held his nerve to take the team over the line. What bodes well for India is the comeback to form for Suryakumar Yadav, who scored a match-winning 62 off 40 balls in the first match. The openers, KL Rahul and Rohit Sharma, also spent decent time out in the middle.

As for the New Zealand team, their top-order batsmen, Martin Guptill and Mark Chapman had a great partnership but the total they put up wasn’t enough on the night. The second T20I between the two sides has a lot of dew in store half an hour after the scheduled start so the teams will need to assess what a good first-innings total will be.

India vs New Zealand
India vs New Zealand (Credits: Twitter)

One reason for the Kiwis’ loss in the first game was Trent Boult’s off-day with the ball. He was taken to the cleaners by his Mumbai Indians (MI) skipper, Rohit. However, a man of his caliber will put the odd poor game behind and focus on the task at hand. The New Zealand side needs a win to stay alive in the series.

India vs New Zealand, 2021: 2nd T20I, Ranchi – Toss Report

India win the toss and elect to field first in the 2nd T20I against New Zealand.

India vs New Zealand, 2021: 1st T20I, Jaipur – Playing XI Details

India Playing XI:

Rohit Sharma (C), KL Rahul, Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant (Wk), Venkatesh Iyer, Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Harshal Patel, Deepak Chahar, Bhuvneshwar Kumar

New Zealand Playing XI:

Martin Guptill, Daryl Mitchell, Mark Chapman, Glenn Phillips, Tim Seifert (Wk), Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee (C), Trent Boult, Adam Milne, Ish Sodhi, Jimmy Neesham

Also Read – It Is Important For Us To Keep Reasonable Expectations From Rahul Dravid: Gautam Gambhir