Shreyas Iyer
Shreyas Iyer. (Photo: BCCI)

Shreyas Iyer has registered his name in the record books by becoming the 16th Indian cricketer in the history of the purest format of the game to smash a century on his debut.

Iyer scored his century on day 2 of the first Test against Kane Williamson-led New Zealand National Cricket Team on November 26 at Green Park, Kanpur.

IPL 2022 Auction | IPL 2022 Teams | IPL News and Updates | IPL  2022 Schedule | ICC Teams  Rankings | ICC Players Rankings

Shreyas Iyer
Shreyas Iyer. Credits: BCCI

The 26-year-old achieved the 100-run milestone in 157 balls and his innings was filled with 12 amazing fours and 2 marvellous sixers. Notably, he came to bat when India were struggling at 145/4 and he added an unbeaten 113-run stand with all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja and he ended day 1 with 75* runs under his belt.

Shreyas Iyer Becomes 16th Indian Batsman To Score A Century On Test Debut

Shreyas Iyer, Ravindra Jadeja
Shreyas Iyer, Ravindra Jadeja. Image-BCCI/Twitter

Shreyas Iyer got the opportunity in the playing XI in the absence of Virat Kohli who is rested for the first Test match and Hanuma Vihari who was not included in the squad and was sent with India ‘A’ squad for the South Africa tour.

Meanwhile, before Iyer, 15 Indian cricketers had a dream start in their Test careers and they smashed an astonishing century on the debut game.

IND vs NZ 2021: Shreyas Iyer Picked Over Hanuma Vihari Because Management Wanted An Attacking Option In The Middle Order - Reports


The first Indian cricketer to achieve this milestone was Lala Amarnath who smashed a Test century in the year 1933 and before Iyer, the latest Indian to score a Test hundred on debut was his former Delhi Capitals (DC) teammate Prithvi Shaw who smashed 134 runs in 2018.

Here is the complete list of Indians who have scored a century in the Test debut :

Lala Amarnath – 118

R Deepak Shodhan – 110

AG Kripal Singh – 100*

Ali Baig – 112

Hanumat Singh – 105

Gundappa Viswanath – 137

Surinder Amarnath – 124

Mohammad Azharuddin – 110

Pravin Amre – 103

Sourav Ganguly – 131

Virender Sehwag – 105

Suresh Raina – 120

Shikhar Dhawan – 187

Rohit Sharma – 177

Prithvi Shaw – 134

Shreyas Iyer – 105

Also Read: BAN vs PAK Dream11 Prediction, Fantasy Cricket Tips, Dream11 Team, Playing XI, Pitch Report, Injury Update- Pakistan Tour of Bangladesh, 1st Test

Get All Cricket match prediction and fantasy Tips – CLICK HERE

Cricket Match Prediction | T20 World Cup Match Prediction | Today Match Fantasy Prediction | Fantasy Cricket Tips | Cricket News and Updates | Cricket Live Score