Aakash Chopra (Image Credits: Twitter)
Aakash Chopra (Image Credits: Twitter)

Aakash Chopra has named India’s probable starting XI for the first T20I against Sri Lanka, which will be contested on Tuesday, January 3 at Mumbai’s Wankhede Stadium.

The selectors chose a 16-man Indian team for the three-match series, led by Hardik Pandya. Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant, Jasprit Bumrah, and Ravindra Jadeja are either injured or have been given a rest.

IPL 2023 | Sri Lanka tour of India 2023 | Dream11 Prediction | Fantasy Cricket Tips | Cricket Match Prediction Today | Cricket News | Cricket Live Score | New Zealand tour of India 2023 | Australia tour of India 2023

Indian Cricket Team
Indian Cricket Team. Image Credits: Twitter

Chopra explained why he chose Ishan Kishan and Shubman Gill as his two openers in a video posted on his YouTube channel.

“I believe Ishan Kishan is a sure opener. Who will take his place at the start? I’m not sure. Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, and Rahul Tripathi are present, while Suryakumar Yadav and Deepak Hooda have left. I believe Shubman Gill will be available here.”

IPL 2023 | IND vs SL 2023 | India vs Sri Lanka 2023 | India National Cricket Team | IND vs NZ 2023 | India vs New Zealand 2023 | IND vs AUS 2023 | India vs Australia 2023

Shubman Gill-Ishan Kishan
Photo Credit: (BCCI)

Aakash Chopra prefers Suryakumar Yadav to bat at No. 3 and believes Sanju Samson will have to play finisher, noting:

“I want to see Suryakumar Yadav at No. 3 because if you have to look towards the future, you should retain him at No. 3. Then you may keep Deepak Hooda at No. 4, skipper Hardik Pandya at No. 5, and so on,” Aakash Chopra added.

Aakash Chopra completed his XI by selecting three seamers:

Aakash Chopra completed out his XI with three seamers and two spinners, stating:

“In bowling, Axar Patel, Yuzvendra Chahal, and Harshal Patel make it your three bowlers. After that, you will see Arshdeep Singh playing and you have to play one more – that can be Umran Malik. Washington Sundar is not getting a place in my team.”

Arshdeep Singh
Arshdeep Singh (PC-Getty Images)

On January 3rd, Sri Lanka’s tour of India will get underway with the first Twenty20 International being contested in Mumbai. This tour will have a combined total of 3 T20Is and 3 ODIs.

While players like Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma have been rested, Hardik Pandya will be the Indian team’s captain. Among the key players from the Indian camp are Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan, and Yuzvendra Chahal.

Also Read: IND vs SL: Dasun Shanaka Thinks India Tour Is A Good Preparation For The World Cup

Virat Kohli | Rohit Sharma | Rishabh Pant | KL Rahul | Suryakumar Yadav | Sanju Samson | Shreyas Iyer | Yuzvendra Chahal | Jasprit Bumrah