India vs Sri Lanka 3rd ODI
Photo Credit: (PTI)

In the first ODI here on Tuesday, India pacer Mohammed Shami came perilously close to executing a “Mankading” when he attempted to run out Sri Lanka captain Dasun Shanaka at the non-end. striker’s However, Rohit Sharma intervened and withdrew the appeal.

India won the first game of their one-day international series against Sri Lanka by 67 runs, following their victory in the T20I series.

IPL 2023 | Sri Lanka tour of India 2023 | Dream11 Prediction | Fantasy Cricket Tips | Cricket Match Prediction Today | Cricket News | Cricket Live Score | New Zealand tour of India 2023 | Australia tour of India 2023

IND vs SL: Watch - Mohammad Shami Runs Out Dasun Shanaka In Non-Striker's End, Rohit Sharma Withdraws Appeal
IND vs SL: Watch – Mohammad Shami Runs Out Dasun Shanaka In Non-Striker’s End, Rohit Sharma Withdraws Appeal

The game was about to be overshadowed by a controversial incident involving Mohammed Shami’s run-out at the non-end, striker’s but Rohit Sharma’s sportsmanship won everyone over. Mohammed Shami, who was bowling in the final over in India vs. Sri Lanka game, got into some heated air.

Mohammed Shami
Mohammed Shami. Pic Credits: Twitter

As Shami paused in the middle of his bowling action and removed the bails at the non-end, striker Dasun Shanaka, who was at the non-end striker’s on 98, left his crease. Rohit Sharma quickly withdrew the appeal, though, and allowed Shanaka to score his century.

IPL 2023 | IND vs SL 2023 | India vs Sri Lanka 2023 | India National Cricket Team | IND vs NZ 2023 | India vs New Zealand 2023 | IND vs AUS 2023 | India vs Australia 2023

Sanath Jayasuriya praises Rohit Sharma for withdrawing the appeal:

Sanath Jayasuriya, a former cricketer for Sri Lanka, praised Rohit for his sporting gesture despite the fact that this choice caused some of the Twitterati to be divided, with some applauding the skipper and others criticizing him.

“The real winner was the sportsmanship of Rohit Sharma for refusing to take the run out. I doff my cap to you!,” tweeted Jayasuriya.

Sanath Jayasuriya
Sanath Jayasuriya. (Photo: Twitter)

Since the ICC changed its rule book in October of last year, run-outs on the bowler’s end are no longer regarded as “unfair play.”

The term “Mankading” refers to run-outs where the batter tries to cross the crease before the bowler releases the ball. Vinoo Mankad executed the first such dismissal when he twice ran out Bill Brown at the non-striker’s end during the 1947–1948 Test series against Australia.

Also Read: IND vs SL: Watch – Mohammad Shami Runs Out Dasun Shanaka In Non-Striker’s End, Rohit Sharma Withdraws Appeal

Virat Kohli | Rohit Sharma | Rishabh Pant | KL Rahul | Suryakumar Yadav | Sanju Samson | Shreyas Iyer | Yuzvendra Chahal | Jasprit Bumrah