Shoaib Akhtar, Pakistan
Shoaib Akhtar [Image Credits: Google]

Former Pakistan pace bowler Shoaib Akhtar lambasted Australian all-rounder Marcus Stoinis for accusing Pakistan pacer Mohammad Hasnain of chucking his bowling action in the ongoing The Hundred 2022. 

During the match between Southern Brave and Oval Invincibles, Stoinis top-edged Hasnain’s short delivery that flew toward eventual centurion Will Jacks at mid-off. While moving back to the pavilion, Stoinis imitated Hasnain’s action, gesturing for it to be chucked.

Shameful Gesture By Marcus Stoinis Regarding Mohammad Hasnain's Bowling Action - Shoaib Akhtar

Shameful gesture by Marcus Stoinis: Shoaib Akhtar

Akhtar was infuriated by Stoinis’ gesture on the field toward his compatriot and the former Pakistan speedster not just questioned the player for his accusations but also slammed the International Cricket Council (ICC) for remaining silent on the issue. 

“Shameful gesture by @MStoinis regarding bowling action of @MHasnainPak during #TheHundred2022. How dare you do such things?? Of course, @ICC stays quiet about them. No player should be allowed to do such things if someone’s been cleared already,” Akhtar tweeted. 

Shoaib Akhtar
Shoaib Akhtar (Image Credit: Twitter)

ICC has cleared Mohammad Hasnain’ bowling action, who are you question? Salman Butt

Former Pakistan captain Salman Butt also criticised Stoinis for targeting Hasnain over bowling action, which was cleared by an ICC Committee earlier this year. 

“It was below-the-belt action. I mean ICC just cleared his (Hasnain) actions then what’s the point? It is not about where he did it? It can be IPL, or PSL or The Hundred but here the talk is about international cricket,” Butt said on his YouTube channel.

“The fact is that when ICC has cleared his actions, the authorities have had a look at his actions then who are you? Hasnain will already be under tight scrutiny because he just made a comeback,” he added. 

Hasnain was found guilty of having an illegal bowling action and was immediately suspended from bowling earlier this year. It happened during a Big Bash League match between Sydney Thunder and Adelaide Strikers on January 2 when umpire Gerard About reported his action.

The 22-year-old underwent biomechanics tests in late January, with the findings from the Lahore University of Management of Sciences confirming that his elbow was under the ICC’s permissible 15-degree limit extension. In June, Hasnaian was cleared to bowl in international cricket following an assessment at the ICC accredited centre in Lahore.

Also Read: The Hundred 2022: Marcus Stoinis Accuses Pakistan Pacer Mohammad Hasnain Of Chucking