Ishan Kishan
Ishan Kishan (Image Credit: Twitter)

Indian left-handed opening batter Ishan Kishan wasn’t too unhappy about being omitted from the Asia Cup as he will now work harder to improve himself and score more runs to get back on the selectors’ radar.

Kishan went through a lean patch in the leadup to the tournament and fluffed most of the chances he received at the top of the order. Since the competition at the top is cutthroat in the Indian team, any slipups prove to be fatal to their chances.

Shreyas Iyer and Ishan Kishan (Image Credits: Twitter)
Shreyas Iyer and Ishan Kishan (Image Credits: Twitter)

I feel that what selectors do is fair. They put a lot of thought while selecting players as to who should be given the opportunity and where. It is a positive for me because if I am not selected, I will work harder and score more runs. When selectors will have confidence in me, they will obviously keep me in the team,” Kishan told ANI.

“I guess it is unlucky for Ishan Kishan” – Scott Styris

Styris had said that Kishan’s inclusion in the side could have provided variety at the top in a batting order that is completely dominated by right-hand batters apart from the wicket-keeper batter, Rishabh Pant.

So that says that he was always a frontline player in this Indian side and I guess it is unlucky for Ishan Kishan, he has got that left-handed ability which I think they would have loved to have got into the squad if they possibly could have because it is a very right-handed dominant side until to get to someone like Rishabh Pant.

India's Ishan Kishan., PC-BCCI
India’s Ishan Kishan., PC-BCCI

So, I think he’ll be disappointed and naturally, he is a terrific player. But KL Rahul, it is great for India that he is back because you know, he is a genuine match winner on the biggest stage too,” Styris mentioned about the omission.

India’s squad for Asia Cup 2022:

Rohit Sharma (c), KL Rahul (vc), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Rishabh Pant (wk), Dinesh Karthik (wk), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Ravi Bishnoi, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Arshdeep Singh, Avesh Khan.

Also Read – Looking Forward To Get An Opportunity In BBL Again – Kieron Pollard