Rohit Sharma and Rishabh Pant
Rohit Sharma and Rishabh Pant (Image Credit: Twitter)
Prev1 of 4

T20 cricket started in the early 2000s and in over a decade, it is one of the most played formats across the world. Other than T20I matches at the international level, many franchise cricket T20 leagues are also played in major-cricket playing nations.

Afghanistan Premier League, Indian Premier League, Bangladesh Premier League, The Big Bash League, Manzi Super League, Sri Lanka Premier League, Pakistan Super League, and Caribbean Super League are some of the most popular franchisees T20 cricket leagues played around the world.

Since T20 matches only observe 20 overs in an innings, batsmen always seek to smash runs at a high strike rate so as to accumulate maximum runs for the team. As a result, T20 matches often witness quickfire knocks with players reaching half-centuries and centuries in very fewer deliveries. Here we take a glance at such records. Below are 4 Indian players who have smashed the fastest hundred in T20 cricket.

4 Indian Players Who Have Smashed The Fastest Hundred In T20 Cricket

Mohammed Azharuddeen- 37 Balls (Kerala vs Mumbai, SMAT 2021)

Mohammed Azharuddeen
Mohammed Azharuddeen (Image Credit: Twitter)

Mohammed Azharuddeen is a domestic Indian cricketer who plays for Kerala. He takes the 4th spot in the list of Indian players with the fastest century in T20 cricket. During Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2021, the Kerala batsman smashed a hundred off just 37 balls in a match against Mumbai in January 2021.

Batting first, Mumbai scored 196/7 in 20 overs with collective efforts from the top three batsmen. For Kerala, Robin Uthappa and Mohammed Azharuddeen opened the innings.

The wicketkeeper-batsman Azharuddeen scored unbeaten 137 runs off 54 balls to bag the victory for Kerala. The 27-year-old reached his fifty in just 20 balls and hundred off 37 balls during his quickfire knock. He smashed 9 fours and 11 sixes during his time on the crease. Reaching 201/2 in just 15.5 overs, Kerala won the match comfortably by 8 wickets.

Prev1 of 4