Australia Women
Australian Women Cricket Team [Image-Getty]

Move over Ricky Ponting and his juggernaut masquerading as an ODI team, for their women counterparts, the Meg Lanning-led Australia women’s cricket team has leapfrogged the former World champions to notch up the longest winning streak in 50-over cricket.

The six-time Women’s 50-over champions notched up their 22nd win on the bounce against their Trans-Tasman rivals New Zealand during the first ODI of the three-match series at the Bay Oval in Mount Maunganui on Sunday.

Australia  Women
Australia Women Cricket Team [Image-Getty]
The six-wicket win was set up by fast bowler Meghan Schutt, who notched up figures of 4/32 in 9 overs, as New Zealand lost their last eight wickets for 53 runs to get bowled out for a paltry 212 in 48.5 overs.

The target of 213 was never going to be enough against a power-packed Australian batting unit and it didn’t as opener Alyssa Healy (65) and Elysse Perry (56*) notcher up half-centuries to help the visitors claim a record-breaking win.


It all started in March 2018 for the Meg Lanning leg-Australia Women’s team

Australia Women
Australian Women Cricket Team [Image-Getty]
The Australian women’s cricket team has been on a roll ever since they succumbed to a semi-final defeat against India in the 2017 50-over World Cup.

Since the semi-final defeat, Meg Lanning’s team has won 24 of their 25 completed ODIs. Their sole defeat came against England in a dead-rubber game in October 2017.

Since then, they have won 22 in a row, a streak that started in March 2018 courtesy of a win against India.

The 22-match winning run is the longest streak in ODI cricket (men/women), surpassing Ricky Ponting’s teams’ record of 21 which the latter achieved way back in 2003.

Following the record-breaking win, skipper Meg Lanning alluded to her teams’ astounding consistency over such a long period of time.

“It’s a great achievement from this group over a long period of time,” Meg Lanning said after the match. ”Those wins have come over three years, which I think just shows how consistent we’ve been at this format.” she added.

The second ODI of the three-match series will take place on April 07 at the same venue and the former world champions will look to continue with their imperious run and take an unassailable 2-0 lead.

Also Read- We Don’t Show Off Or Brag About Ourselves – Shreevats Goswami Says SRH’s ‘Biggest Strength’ Is Their Calmness

Yash Mittal

Just a student of this beautiful game called cricket. Writer. Storyteller.