CSA Likely To Sign 7-year Broadcast Deal With Viacom 18 For Bilateral Games

Published - 04 Nov 2022, 11:30 AM | Updated - 16 Apr 2024, 10:42 AM

SA20, CSA (Image Credits: CSA)

Viacom 18 is planning to seal the deal for the domestic bilateral matches of Cricket South Africa (both men’s and women’s cricket) after acquiring the SA20 property (CSA). Although neither South Africa Board nor Viacom 18 have officially announced the arrangement, Cricbuzz can confirm that it will likely be signed within the next couple of days. 

Viacom 18 will therefore own the media rights to international cricket in South Africa for seven years, from 2024–20 to 20–30, from 2024–20 to 20–31. During this time, South Africa is set to play 87 games, including 21 games against India. 

The rights are thought to be worth more than USD 250 million. The CSA will continue to be broadcast in India by Star Sports through the 2023–24 season. Negotiations between the CSA and the Indian broadcaster resulted in the agreement being finalised because the Invitation To Tender (ITT) issued by the board last month did not receive a positive response.

CSA (Image Credits: Twitter)
CSA (Image Credits: Twitter)

CSA Will Not Comment On A Process Which Is Not Finalized: Pholetsi Moseki

The agreement will cover both digital and broadcast rights. When contacted, CEO Pholetsi Moseki said, “CSA will not comment on a process which is not finalized.”  

The CSA set USD 7,000,000 ($ USD million) for India match and USD 3,000,000 ($ USD 3 million) per non-India season in accordance with the ITT. India will only travel to South Africa twice under the terms of the agreement, once in 2027–2028 to play two Tests, three ODIs, and six T20Is, and again in 2031 to play two Tests, three ODIs, and five T20Is. 

India vs South Africa
India vs South Africa (Image Credits: BCCI)

Because India games have a history of being unpredictable, the CSA included a caution in its ITT that read: 

“If the number of India Matches decreases, CSA shall not be in breach of contract, but the Licensee shall be entitled (as its sole remedy) to a pro rata reduction and/or rebate of the License Fee in accordance with the agreed per India Match rate (except where a scheduled Match is cancelled or License Fee abandoned due to adverse weather).”  

Date  Team  Test  ODI  T20I 
2024-25  Sri Lanka  2     
  Pakistan  2  3  3 
2025-26  West Indies  2     
2026-27  Australia  3     
  Bangladesh  2  3   
  England  3  3   
2027-28  India  0  3  3 

(TBC- lead up to ODI WC – Oct/Nov 2027)  

Date  Team  Test  ODI  T20I 
December 2027-28  India  2  0  3 
2028-29  Sri Lanka  3  3   
  Pakistan  2  3  3 
2029-30  Australia  0  3  3 
  New Zealand  2  3  3 
2030-31  England       
  India (TBC 2031)  2  3  5 
  Test  ODI  T20I 
Projected Total Matches  22  33  22 

India-New Zealand series on Prime

Starting on November 18, Prime Video will broadcast the India tour of New Zealand. On November 30, it will be over after three T20s and three ODIs.

India vs New Zealand
Image Source: Twitter

The team for the six-game white ball series has already been revealed by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), with Shikhar Dhawan serving as the captain for the ODIs and Hardik Pandya guiding the side in the T20Is. The ODIs will begin at 6 AM (IST), while the T20Is will commence at 11 AM (IST).

Also Read:IND vs BAN: Bangladesh To Bring Up The Contentious Umpiring Issue In “Proper Forum”


Cricket South Africa (CSA) India National Cricket Team South Africa national cricket team Viacom18 Warriors