T20 World Cup 2021, England Cricket Team
England Cricket Team. Image source: Twitter

As India and England currently battle out an exciting Test series, the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) announced that they will be hosting India next year also for limited-overs matches. The ECB announced their 2022 home summer schedule – where they will play host to New Zealand, India, and South Africa across formats.

The 2022 international home season in England will kick off with a 3-Test series against the inaugural World Test Champions in June at Lord’s. New Zealand defeated England in a 2-Test series earlier this year, however, that series was not part of the WTC.

Then, Eoin Morgan’s side will play a total of 12 white-ball matches in July: The Three Lions take on India for 3 T20Is and as many ODIs in the first half of July, before they meet South Africa for a 3-ODI and 3-T20I series in the second half of the month.

T20 World Cup
Team India, Image Courtesy: Twitter

The season concludes with a 3-Test series against the Proteas in August and September.

Both the Test series, against New Zealand and South Africa, will be vital for Joe Root and his team as both series are part of the WTC 2021-23, carrying crucial points.

The ECB also confirmed that the T20 Blast Finals Day will be staged at Edgbaston on July 16.

ECB Chief Executive Officer, Tom Harrison, said: “It has been a scintillating summer of cricket and so good to see crowds back packing out venues later this summer. For next summer, I am pleased to be able to confirm three high-quality men’s international touring teams for 2022, starting with a three-Test LV= Insurance Series against World Test champions New Zealand.

“We also look forward to India returning for two white-ball series before we host South Africa for what promises to be hard-fought series across three formats, including three LV= Insurance Test Matches.”

New Zealand, India, ICC Test Rankings
New Zealand Cricket Team celebrates after beating England 1-0 in June 2021. (Image Credit- Getty)

England Men’s fixtures 2022:

England vs New Zealand:

1st Test vs New Zealand, Lord’s, June 2-6

2nd Test vs New Zealand, Trent Bridge, June 10-14

3rd Test vs New Zealand, Headingley, June 23-27

England vs India:

1st T20I vs India, Old Trafford, July 1

2nd T20I vs India, Trent Bridge, July 3

3rd T20I vs India, The Ageas Bowl, July 6

1st ODI vs India, Edgbaston, July 9

2nd ODI vs India, The Oval, July 12

3rd ODI vs India, Lord’s, July 14

England vs South Africa:

1st ODI vs South Africa, Riverside, July 19

2nd ODI vs South Africa, Old Trafford, July 22

3rd ODI vs South Africa, Headingley, July 24

1st T20I vs South Africa, Bristol, July 27

2nd T20I vs South Africa, Sophia Gardens, July 28

3rd T20I vs South Africa, The Ageas Bowl, July 31

1st Test vs South Africa, Lord’s, August 17-21

2nd Test vs South Africa, Edgbaston, August 25-29

3rd Test vs South Africa, The Oval, September 8-12

Also Read: The Ashes 2021: ECB Awaits Details Of Tour From Cricket Australia, England Players Reportedly Frustrated Over Lack Of Information