India Playing 11 vs Australia – 4th T20I, 2023
Photo Credit: (BCCI)

India takes on Australia in the fourth T20I in Raipur on December 1. The series is well poised at 2-1 after Australia’s win in the third T20I in Vizag. A win in Raipur will help India clinch the T20I series. Meanwhile, this is the very first T20I to be played in Raipur.

Australia chased down 223 and won with five wickets to spare. The match was decided in the last ball of the last over with Prasidh Krishna going for 21 runs and Glenn Maxwell hitting three consecutive boundaries to win the match for the Aussies.

Heading into the third game, there are some changes in the Indian squad. Shreyas Iyer returns to the side and takes over vice-captaincy duties from Ruturaj Gaikwad. Meanwhile, Deepak Chahar who joined the squad ahead of the third T20I should be given a game in Raipur.

Also Read: ‘Best T20 Player’ – Matthew Wade Lauds Glenn Maxwell For Sensational Ton In 3rd T20I

Read More  AUS vs NZ Match Preview- 1st Test, 2024

India’s death bowling weakness was exposed in the previous game with Prasidh Krishna failing to defend 21 runs in the final over. He went for 68 runs in the third T20I becoming the bowler with the most expensive figures for India in T20Is.

India is led by Suryakumar Yadav who himself did well in the first T20I. The batting lineup has performed overall as have the bowlers in the first two games. It is the bowling attack that will be in focus with a few changes expected in the lineup.

India Playing 11 vs Australia – 4th T20I, 2023

Ruturaj Gaikwad

Ruturaj Gaikwad
PC: Sportzpics

Gaikwad will continue to open the batting. He scored 123 in the third t20I and became the first Indian batter to score a T20I ton against the Aussies. India will look forward to a good start from him.

Ishan Kishan (WK)

Ishan Kishan
Photo Credit: (Twitter)

Kishan can open the batting with Gaikwad with Iyer returning at number three. The southpaw scored a duck in the previous game but can very well make up for it. Kishan will replace Yashasvi Jaiswal at the top.

Shreyas Iyer

"Chasing Excellence Is A Rare Commodity In Sports"-Ravichandran Ashwin Hails Shreyas Iyer's Comeback
Photo Credit: (PTI)

Iyer returns to batting at number three in the fourth T20I. He was rested from the first three games. The right-hander plays the spinners well in the middle overs and needs to play attacking cricket.

Read More  'Quite a big series for struggling Australia batters' - Michael Vaughan ahead of 1st Test against New Zealand

Suryakumar Yadav

IND vs AUS 4th T20I Live Streaming – When and Where To Watch India vs Australia Live In India? 2023
India vs Australia (Credits: Twitter)

SKY will slot in at four. He scored 39 in the previous T20I. This being a must-win game for India, his leadership will be tested. Surya’s captaincy has been praised so far.

Tilak Varma

Tilak Varma - Robin Uthappa
Photo Credit: (AFP)

Tilak will bat at five. He has been used as a floater and to maintain the left-right combination. The southpaw played a useful knock of 31 off 24 balls in the third T20I and added an unbeaten 141-run stand.

Rinku Singh

Rinku Singh
Photo Credit: (AFP)

Rinku will slot in at six. He did not get to bat in the last game. However, he has played two match-winning knocks of 22 off 14 and 31 off 9 in the first two games. He is a brilliant fielder to boot his batting credentials.

Axar Patel

Axar Patel -Aakash Chopra
Photo Credit: (Twitter)

Patel will slot in at seven. He went for 37 runs off his four overs in the third T20I. The left-arm spinner is the seniormost spinner in this Indian attack. He is nine short of 50 T20I wickets.

Deepak Chahar

Deepak Chahar
Photo Credit: (BCCI)

Chahar can replace Prasidh Krishna in the attack and can bat at eight. He was out for a long time due to injury. He went back to domestic cricket scored runs and took wickets and was then recalled back into the side.

Read More  "There could be some slight rule changes..." - Steve Smith advocates rule adjustments in Test cricket

Ravi Bishnoi

Ravi Bishnoi
Ravi Bishnoi. (Photo Credit: BCCI)

Bishnoi is the specialist leggie in the XI. He picked up two for 32 and was the best bowler for India in the third T20I. The leggie should be given a longer run in the Indian T20I side.

Arshdeep Singh

Arshdeep Singh No-Ball
Photo Credit: (BCCI)

Arshdeep Singh will be the second specialist seamer in the XI. He went for 44 runs with the ball in the third T20I. He is also the only left-to-arm seamer in the side.

Mukesh Kumar

Mukesh Kumar - RP Singh
Photo Credit: (Twitter/BCCI)

Mukesh Kumar will conclude the likely XI for the fourth T20I. He bowled brilliantly in the first two T20Is. He was not included for the third T20I and should come back into the XI for the fourth T20I. The pacer is being groomed as a death-over specialist.

Also Read: ‘Death Bowling Not A Concern’ – Ruturaj Gaikwad Backs Bowlers Despite 3rd T20I Loss




Anshuman Roy is an author at Cricketaddictor. He has been working with the organization since January 2022 and he has written more than 5000 articles for the website.