Prithvi Shaw Creates History, Becomes First Player To Score List A Double Century In Two Countries

Updated - 10 Aug 2023, 03:36 PM

Prithvi Shaw
Prithvi Shaw (Credits: Twitter)

Prithvi Shaw, on Wednesday (August 9), smashed the record books by scoring a stunning double-century while plying his trade for Northamptonshire against Somerset in the ongoing One-Day Cup.

The out-of-favor India batsman once again reminded the world of his immense batting abilities by smashing 244 off just 153 deliveries. The knock was studded with 28 fours and 11 sixes. Thanks to his knock, Northamptonshire thrashed Somerset by 87 runs. The 244-run knock is Northamptonshire’s highest-ever score in List A cricket. Overall, it is the sixth-highest score in List A history.

Batting first, Northamptonshire scored 415 for 8 in the allotted 50 overs. Prithvi Shaw led the charge with the bat as he played a faultless innings. He was at ease against both spinner and pacers. The right-handed batsman reached his first 100 off 81 balls and took only 48 deliveries more to complete his double century. He was dismissed in the very last over of the innings.

Prithvi Shaw creates history:

The stunning double century has helped Prithvi Shaw achieve numerous milestones. Apart from registering the sixth-highest score in List A cricket history, he now also holds the record for the second-highest-ever List A innings made in England.

Prithvi Shaw has also created history with his latest knock. He has created a record that even the likes of Sachin Tendulkar, Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, or any other big name have not managed to achieve. He has become the first-ever cricketer to score a List A double century in two countries.

Before scoring the double century for Northamptonshire, the youngster had scored one for Mumbai too. During the 2021/22 Vijay Hazare Trophy fixture between Mumbai and Puducherry, he had played an unbeaten knock of 227. He, however, is not the first cricketer to have multiple double centuries in the 50-over format.

Player Runs Team Opposition
N Jagadeesan 277 Tamil Nadu v Arunachal
AD Brown 268 Surrey v Glamorgan
RG Sharma 264 India v Sri Lanka
DJM Short 257 West Aust v Queensland
S Dhawan 248 India A v SA A
Prithvi Shaw 244 Northants v Somerset
MJ Guptill 237* New Zealand v West Indies
TM Head 230 South Aust v Queensland
BR Dunk 229* Tasmania v Queensland
Prithvi Shaw 227* Mumbai v Puducherry


Northamptonshire Prithvi Shaw Royal London One-Day Cup