Kapil Dev
Kapil Dev. Image-PTI

Former Indian skipper Kapil Dev has broken his silence on the resumption of cricketing ties between India and Pakistan. They last played each other in a bilateral series in the 2012/13 season and since then has been against each other only in ICC tournaments.

India ended cricketing ties with Pakistan after the Mumbai terror attack in 2008.  The 2012/13 series was an effort to resume bilateral ties but that did not happen. The Indian government accused the Pakistani militants of attacking India’s economic captain which still remains one of the most horrific incidents ever happened in the country.

Country’s Policy More Important Than India-Pakistan Cricketing Rivalry: Kapil Dev

Kapil Dev. Photo- Getty
Kapil Dev. Photo- Getty

In an interaction with Times of India, Kapil Dev clearly kept his point of view on the hugely debatable topic. He said that both the countries playing bilateral series against each other depends on the national interest of both countries. He further said that only the government of the respective countries can decide on the future.

“Only they can decide,” he said, adding that the country’s policy is more important. India’s legendary former cricketer said that as citizens, they should stand with their government’s policy. The former Indian skipper further praised the BCCI for enhancing the cricketing facilities within the country.

“The Indian cricket board has placed a lot of importance on the infrastructure. This has been hugely beneficial to the young cricketers. The board has given facilities to players” he said.

Virat Kohli, Babar Azam, India, Pakistan, India vs Pakistan
Babar Azam and Virat Kohli. Credits: Twitter

India played Pakistan recently in the T20 World Cup that happened last year in the UAE. Pakistan registered their maiden victory against India in all World Cups in the game as Shaheen Shah Afridi ran through the Indian top-order.

The next T20 World Cup will be played in Australia later this year in October-November. India will play Pakistan at the MCG on October 23. Seven venues including Melbourne, Sydney, Brisbane, Adelaide, Geelong, Hobart, and Perth will host the matches.

Also Read: PBKS vs SRH: “He’s Going To Play For India”- Sunil Gavaskar On Umran Malik

Anshuman Roy

A Hardcore Cricket Enthusiast Having Previously Worked With Cricwizz, Circle of Cricket, Times Now, The Quint, Cricfit and Now With Cricket Addictor.