Shikhar Dhawan And Ishant Sharma Named In Delhi's Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy Squad

Shikhar Dhawan And Ishant Sharma Named In Delhi’s Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy Squad

Shikhar Dhawan (Image Credit: Twitter)

Indian veteran cricketers Ishant Sharma and Shikhar Dhawan have made it to Delhi’s squad for the upcoming edition of Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy. The 2021 season of Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy will take place across six venues from the 10th to 31st of January. Shikhar Dhawan was part of the white-ball games in Australia while Ishant Sharma will make a return.

Ishant Sharma’s side strain ruled him out of the four-match Test series in Australia. While the 97-Test veteran has made it to the squad, he will not be available for all the matches. The selection panel announced a 42-member squad that includes the likes of Unmukt Chand, Nitish Rana, Pawan Suyal, and Manan Sharma.

Ishant Sharma, India, County Cricket, Sledge, India, Jasprit Bumrah, New Zealand vs India 2020, India
Ishant-Sharma. Photo Credit: AP.

The selection committee met on Friday to pick the players and asked them to report to chief coach Rajkumar Sharma and coach Gursharan Singh. The Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy would be the first instance of domestic cricket ever since March 2020 since all the tournaments kept getting deferred due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Shikhar Dhawan’s blistering form in the T20Is in Australia:

Shikhar Dhawan, India, Australia
Shikhar Dhawan [Photo-Twitter]
Shikhar Dhawan, who opened the innings in the three-match T20I series against Australia, had scores of 1, 52, and 28 in the three games. The southpaw’s knock of 52 was mainly crucial since India had to chase 195 in that fixture and his innings set the tone for his side.

Also Read: Injured Imam-Ul-Haq Ruled Out Of Pakistan’s Second Test Against New Zealand