Rohit Sharma, IPL 2019, Mumbai Indians
Rohit Sharma. (AP Photo/Tsering Topgyal)

Former Indian opener and now a famous commentator Aakash Chopra has picked all-time XI of the Mumbai Indians in which he selected Rohit Sharma as the obvious captain. Rohit Sharma has led Mumbai Indians in 104 matches in which the team has won 60 games and lost 42 whereas two have been tied. Ergo, Rohit has a win percentage of 58.65 in the IPL.

Chopra picked Sachin Tendulkar and Sanath Jayasuriya to open the innings for the club. Sachin scored 2334 runs in 78 matches at an average of 34.83 for MI.

Sachin Tendulkar Hardik Pandya, Mumbai Indians
Sachin Tendulkar, Pandya brothers pose for a photo with the IPL trophy. (Photo: Twitter)

Aakash Chopra picks a potent Mumbai Indians side.

Jayasuriya scored 768 runs in 30 IPL matches for MI at an impressive strike rate of 144.36. Rohit Sharma is the leading run-scorer for the franchise with 3728 runs 143 matches. Rohit is the most successful IPL captain as he taken Mumbai Indians to glory on four occasions.

Ambati Rayudu takes the wicket-keeping gloves for the team and he scored 2416 runs in 114 matches for MI. Kieron Pollard is one of the three overseas player in Aakash Chopra’s team as the all-rounder is the second highest run-getter for Mumbai with 2755 runs in 148 matches at a blistering strike rate of 146.

Mumbai Indians, IPL 2020
Mumbai Indians are the defending IPL champions (Credits: BCCI)

Mumbai Indians is the most successful IPL team.

The Pandya’s brother, Hardik and Krunal also make the cut into the side. Hardik has scored 1068 runs in 66 matches and he has scalped 42 wickets. On the other hand, Krunal has 891 runs in 55 matches and he has snared 40 wickets.

Harbhajan Singh is the main spinner of the side as the Turbanator took 127 wickets in 136 matches for MI. Jasprit Bumrah (82 wickets), Lasith Malinga (170 wickets) and Zaheer Khan (26 wickets for MI) constitute the pace battery of the side. Malinga is the highest wicket-getter in the IPL history.

Intertestingly, Chopra picked only three overseas players in the team.

Aakash Chopra’s all-time  Mumbai Indians’ XI: Sachin Tendulkar, Sanath Jayasuriya, Rohit Sharma (Captain), Ambati Rayudu (WK), Kieron Pollard, Krunal Pandya, Hardik Pandya, Harbhajan Singh, Jasprit Bumrah, Lasith Malinga, Zaheer Khan.

Gautam Chauhan

Cricket is my first love. I want to be a wordsmith. I want to weave magic with my words.