David Warner, Aaron Finch
Australia's David Warner and Aaron Finch (Credits: Twitter)

Last Update on: January 15th, 2020 at 08:46 am

Team India’s 2020 has started on a disastrous note as far as ODIs are concerned. After the expected win over Sri Lanka in the T20Is, India were always going to face a tougher challenge from Australia. But the challenge from the Aussies was so tough that India ended up suffering a heavy ten-wicket defeat in the first ODI at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai.

Contrary to the popular expectations, the first match failed to live up to the expectations as India could not provide any sort of challenge to Australia. Barring the brief period when Shikhar Dhawan and KL Rahul were batting, Australia were on top throughout the match after their skipper won the toss and decided to bowl first.

Mitchell Starc made an instant impact with the ball by dismissing the dangerous Rohit Sharma for just 10. Dhawan and Rahul then set the platform by adding 121 runs for the second wicket as they scored 74 and 47 respectively. However, once they departed in a space of six runs, India lost their way and were all out for a below par score of 255.

Virat Kohli
Virat Kohli (Credits: BCCI)

In reply, Australia chased down the total inside 38 overs without losing a single wicket thanks to stunning centuries from their openers David Warner and Finch. Warner remained unbeaten on 128 while Finch remained unbeaten on 110 as Australia registered their biggest ODI win over India in terms of wickets.

Read More  India vs England Weather Report Live Today and Pitch Report Of Guwahati Cricket Stadium, ICC World Cup 2023, Warm Up Match

Also Read: Bad Day In Office For Us – Shikhar Dhawan After Crushing Defeat

End of 15-year streak:

The Virat Kohli-led side ended India’s 15-year long streak of not losing an ODI at home or away by 10 wickets. Prior to the latest defeat, India’s only ten-wicket defeat at home had come way back in 2005 against South Africa at Eden Gardens. Overall, it is the fifth time India lost an ODI by ten wickets. On the other hand, this is the first time Australia won an ODI by ten wickets since the win over Bangladesh in the 2007 World Cup.

Here is a list showing each of India’s ten-wicket losses in ODIs:

113 (target) New Zealand, 1981
200 West Indies, 1997
165 South Africa, 2000
189 South Africa, 2005
256 Australia, 2020