England’s wicketkeeper-batsman, Jonny Bairstow picked his all-time eleven recently. He joined the highly commendable initiative of Lord’s cricket ground.

It is worthy to mention that according to the prevailing rules, a cricketer can select a few categories of players. He can choose only those cricketers whom he would have played with, against or have influenced by.

The English wicketkeeper-batsman decided to select former English skipper, Alastair Cook as his opener. Apart from highest Test run-getter for England, Jonny Bairstow chose Hashim Amla of South Africa. In his video message, Bairstow said he would not hesitate for a second to select these two openers especially Cook.

On the most pivotal role, Bairstow chose Brian Lara at number three slot. He is the leading run-getter for Windies apart from holding highest personal best in Test format with unbeaten 400.

( READ MORE – Fastest 4000 Runs in ODI )

Similarly, on fourth number position, the English cricketer decided to go with Master Blaster, Sachin Tendulkar. He is the leading run-scorer in both Tests and ODIs apart from hitting 100 centuries.

Bairstow picked two South African players on number five and number six slot, respectively. He decided to go with AB de Villiers as a wicket-keeper. It follows Jacques Kallis on the sixth spot. On the seventh pick, he made a surprise bid. Bairstow decided to select present skipper of England on number seven.

Jonny Bairstow
Jonny Bairstow has picked up Alastair Cook and Joe Root in his all-time XI. Image Courtesy: Getty

As a result, the players he is having, Jonny Bairstow said Joe Root has to satisfy himself in lower-order consequently.

Bowling unit of Jonny Bairstow’s XI

In the bowling unit, he decided to go with two picks from Australia. He selected Shane Warne as the only spinner of his team. Besides this, he picked daring Mitchell Johnson as his first speedster subsequently.

Similarly, the fierce pacer from South Africa, Dale Steyn, and James Anderson will fill the rest two slots.

Jonny Bairstow’s XI:

Alastair Cook (captain), Hashim Amla, Brian Lara, Sachin Tendulkar, AB de Villiers (wk), Jacques Kallis, Joe Root, Shane Warne, Mitchell Johnson, Dale Steyn, James Anderson.

Syed Yasir

I'm cricket enthusiast who has the passion to contribute in this beautiful sport by doing writing for it. I'm an ardent supporter of Misbah-ul-Haq, Suresh Raina and Hashim Amla. I'm a strong believer following passion and determination.