Gautam Gambhir Slams News Portal For Posting Picture Of MS Dhoni's Six To Celebrate India's World Cup Win

Gautam Gambhir Slams News Portal For Posting Picture Of MS Dhoni’s Six To Celebrate India’s World Cup Win

Five Best Innings Without Hundreds In ODIs For India, Gautam Gambhir
Gautam Gambhir with MS Dhoni (Credits: Twitter)

Former India batsman Gautam Gambhir has lashed out at a leading cricket portal after its tweet on the anniversary of India’s 2011 World Cup triumph. On this day nine years ago, the Men in Blue beat Sri Lanka by six wickets at the Wankhede Stadium to end India’s 28-year wait for the World Cup.

Gautam Gambhir was one of the architects of that historic win. The southpaw bailed India out of trouble and scored a stunning 97 to set the platform for the win. MS Dhoni then went on to play an unbeaten knock of 91 to make sure India register the win without any trouble in the end.

India were up against a spirited Sri Lankan team which had blown away almost every team that came in its way to the final. Sri Lanka did well with the bat, riding on a classy Mahela Jayawardene (103 not out, 88 balls, 13 fours) century to post a challenging total of 274/6.

Gautam Gambhir
Gautam Gambhir (Credits: Twitter)

In reply, India lost the talismanic Sachin Tendulkar and Virender Sehwag early with Lasith Malinga being the destructor-in-chief. But from thereon, every thing went India’s way as Gautam Gambhir and later MS Dhoni took charge of the innings.

On the ninth anniversary of that famous triumph, ESPNCricinfo decided to tweet the photo of Dhoni’s match-winning six and captioned it: “#OnThisDay in 2011, the shot that sent millions of Indians into jubilation.”

However, Gautam Gambhir was understandably not at all pleased with it and hit back at the news outlet, tweeting:

“Just a reminder @ESPNcricinfo: #worldcup2011 was won by entire India, entire Indian team & all support staff. High time you hit your obsession for a SIX.”

Meanwhile, India haven’t won the World Cup since 2011. In the last two editions, their journey ended at the semifinal stage. The Men in Blue have also not won the T20 World Cup since 2007. Incidentally, Gautam Gambhir had top-scored in the 2007 T20 World Cup final too.

Also Read:Sa*a Ek Saal Hua Nahi Usko Cricket Khelke: Watch As Rohit Sharma Roasts Rishabh Pant For Challenging Him


An avid cricket lover, I just love this game more than anything. Writing about cricket keeps me closer to the game.