Manoj Tiwary
Manoj Tiwary. Credits - Twitter

Former Indian batsman Manoj Tiwary has picked his most preferred playing eleven of IPL 2020,naming it via Cricbuzz live show. With one more edition of IPL coming to a close and ending successfully amid plenty of uncertainties, a plethora of cricketers have announced their eleven and Manoj Tiwary is amongst them. Mumbai Indians bagged their fifth title by beating the Delhi Capitals in Dubai by five wickets.

Manoj Tiwary began by picking Rohit Sharma and KL Rahul as his openers. Rohit Sharma, who captains the side scored one of his three half-centuries in the final; however, had an indifferent tournament. On the other hand, KL Rahul was magnificent throughout the competition, winning the Orange Cap for his 670 runs. The Kings XI Punjab skipper will also keep wickets for the side.

The Bengal cricketer named Suryakumar Yadav at number three as he left the fans and experts in awe with his sheer elegance and flamboyance. At number four, it’s Royal Challengers Bangalore keeper-batsman and absolute game-changer AB De Villiers. De Villiers scored over 450 runs in IPL 2020, crafting some impactful and destructive knocks.

Rohit Sharma, Mumbai Indians, IPL, IPL 2020
Rohit Sharma [Photo-IPLT20]
Tiwary gave the finishing job to Mumbai Indians’ all-rounders Hardik Pandya and Kieron Pollard, maintaining strike rates of 178.98 and 191.43 respectively. One of the surprise inclusions by Manoj Tiwary was Krunal Pandya, who scored only 95 runs and managed five wickets in the tournament. The veteran cricketer ignored the likes of Rahul Tewatia and Marcus Stoinis, both of who impressed.

Manoj Tiwary leaves out the purple cap holder:

Kagiso Rabada
Kagiso Rabada [Photo-Twitter]
To partner Krunal Pandya in the spin-bowling unit, the right-handed batsman opted for SunRisers Hyderabad’s Rashid Khan. The leggie picked up 19 wickets and kept an economy rate of 5.29 in 16 matches. The pace-bowling department consisted of Jofra Archer, Jasprit Bumrah, and T Natarajan, ignoring Kagiso Rabada, who took 30 wickets and bagged the purple cap.

Jofra Archer ended the tournament as the “Most Valuable Player” for his 20 wickets and an economy rate of 4.34. This was despite his team Rajasthan Royals finishing at the bottom. Mumbai Indians’ Jasprit Bumrah and SunRisers Hyderabad’s T Natarajan were outstanding with delivering yorkers, snapping 27 and 16 wickets respectively.

Below is the playing eleven:

Rohit Sharma (C), KL Rahul (wk), Suryakumar Yadav, AB de Villiers, Hardik Pandya, Kieron Pollard, Krunal Pandya, Rashid Khan, Jofra Archer, Jasprit Bumrah, T Natarajan

Also Read: IPL 2020: This Is The Best Mumbai Indians Played In 13 Years, Says Akash Ambani