While India beat West Indies comprehensively on Thursday, Rohit Sharma did not have the best of days with the bat. The India vice-captain, who has scored two centuries in the tournament so far, failed to score big against West Indies and was out for just 18. After a slow start to the innings, Rohit broke the shackles in the sixth over by hitting Kemar Roach for a four and a six.
However, in the same over he had to return back to the pavilion after a baffling decision from the third umpire adjudged him caught behind. Roach’s ball passed through the small gap between bat and pad while making a noise. The on-field umpire gave his decision in Rohit Sharma’s favour before the West Indies reviewed the decision.
The replays showed inconclusive evidence although there was a spike on the UltraEdge when the ball went past the bat. But different angles gave different outcomes before the third umpire asked the on-field umpire to change his decision. A baffled Rohit Sharma could do nothing much but to walk away with a smile on his face.
Well that dismissal did not cost India much as they went on to beat West Indies by 125 runs. However, after the game Rohit expressed his displeasure over the dismissal through Twitter. The opening batsman took to Twitter to post a couple of pictures of that moment when the ball went past the bat and it showed a gap between the two. Rohit did not write anything but made his displeasure clear by posting two emojis.
Here is the tweet from Rohit Sharma:
— Rohit Sharma (@ImRo45) June 28, 2019
India, meanwhile, moved to the second spot in the points table and also continued their unbeaten run in the tournament. Batting first, India rode on fifties from Virat Kohli and MS Dhoni to score 268 for 7. In reply, West Indies were all out for just 143.