The Indian selectors, on Tuesday (May 8), announced the squad of Team India for the limited-overs series against England and Twenty20 International series against Ireland respectively.

Considering the fact that the next World Cup is slated for next year in the United Kingdom (UK), there were speculations that the selectors would name familiar faces. However, the MSK Prasad-led panel sprung quite a few surprises.

Ajinkya Rahane, one of the prime candidates for the number four batting spot, faced an axe. On the other hand, KL Rahul and Sidharth Kaul, who are having a great Indian Premier League (IPL) season, made it to the team.

Rahane (Credits: BCCI)

The number four spot has been a major area of concern for the team management.

Interestingly, the position is the link between the top-order and the lower middle-order and the right man needs to occupy it in order to keep the balance of the playing XI intact.

Since Sri Lanka toured in July-August last year, the team has experimented extensively but without much success.

The likes KL Rahul, Manish Pandey, Kedar Jadhav, Hardik Pandya and Dinesh Karthik were tried at that position but none of them managed to impress.

Quick Read: BCCI Announces A Squad for England Tour

Sidharth Kaul (Credits: BCCI)

Rahane was then given the chance to make that spot his own earlier this year in South Africa. He began the series with an impressive 86-ball 79. However, in the subsequent games, he could only manage scores of 11, 8, 8 and 34*.

Also, Read: BCCI Announces Squad for T20I Series Against England

India ODI squad:

Virat Kohli (c), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Suresh Raina, MS Dhoni, Dinesh Karthik, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Washington Sundar, Jasprit Bumrah, Hardik Pandya, Siddarth Kaul, Shardul Thakur, Bhuvneshwar Kumar.

As far as the T20I series is concerned, the selectors have named same squads for both the series. Virat Kohli will return from his county stint to lead the side in Ireland. Umesh Yadav, who last played a T20I in 2012, has found a place in the team for his impressive showing in the IPL.

India T20I squad:

Virat Kohli, Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Suresh Raina, Manish Pandey, MS Dhoni, Hardik Pandya, Dinesh Karthik, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Washington Sundar, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Sidharth Kaul, Umesh Yadav.

Not surprisingly, the squads caused quite a buzz on the social media. Here are some of the reactions: