Indian white-ball captain Rohit Sharma’s fine knock in the first ODI came to an end in the 14th over of the run chase as he was dismissed by a spirited Joseph Alzarri.
Chasing a target of 177, Rohit and Ishan Kishan got India off to a flyer, scoring at nearly 6 an over without many risks. As he got deeper into his innings, Rohit began taking on the bowlers, particularly Kemar Roach.
He scored two boundaries and a massive six in one over off Roach, signaling his intent to finish the match early. However, a ripping inswinger from Joseph brought an end to his 60-run knock.
Standing deep in his crease, Rohit was unable to account for the movement and was struck in front of the stumps. The umpire had no hesitation in raising his finger. Rohit ended up reviewing the decision but it went against him anyway.
The ball-tracking showed that the ball was clipping the bails and Rohit’s entertaining knock studded with ten fours and a six came to an end. It was also his first knock as the full-time white-ball captain, showing no signs of succumbing to pressure.
Earlier, India bundled out the Windies for 176 courtesy of the spin duo of Washington Sundar and Yuzvendra Chahal, who took seven wickets between them. Jason Holder top-scored with 57 for the visitors.