Wasim Akram, Asia Cup 2018, India, Pakistan, Dubai
Wasim Akram. Photo Credit: Getty Images.

In BCCI‘s latest contract system limited-overs specialists Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan and Jasprit Bumrah have bagged the A+ grade category contract which is worth Rs 7 Crores.

Want to be a professional cricketer?
Register Now

*T&C Apply

Murali Vijay, Wasim Akram
Murali Vijay. (Photo credit should read Ishara S.KODIKARA/AFP/Getty Images)

The COA announced huge hikes for both men and women players in comparison to last year.

However, the major topic of discussion in the contract has been that most of India’s Test specialists were in the new ‘A’ category.

Wasim Akram
Photo credits: AFP

MS Dhoni, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Murali Vijay, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane and Wridhhiman Saha are included in the ‘A’ category. The A category players are eligible for a contract of Rs 5 crores.

Yuvraj Singh, Wasim Akram
Yuvraj Singh missed out from the players included in the central contract. (Credits: AFP)

However, this decision by the BCCI has backfired for them as this the decision to put India’s Test specialists in the lower category have sent wrong signals to long format players.

Former Pakistani legendary fast bowler, Wasim Akram has said that the cricket boards must reward the Test players more than the limited over players.

Wasim Akram
Wasim Akram.  Image Courtesy: Twitter

Akram said:

“Test specialists should (get more). Because that’s the most difficult cricket. That’s where you get hit by bouncers, you get hit on your head, on your fingers as a batsman. Bowlers bowl longer spells. That’s where the mindset of those who run cricket boards (matters). They should realise Test cricket is the ultimate and everything else follows.”

Here’s the news feed:

Head of CoA Vinod Rai reveals the reason behind introducing a new Grade category

“None of the BCCI officials were involved in contractual decision making”-Amitabh Choudhary

Prabhangad Singh

Ardent Sports lover, Cricket fanatic, Manchester United fan(GGMU), Roger Federer over Rafael Nadal