Women's T20 Cricket To Feature On 2022 Commonwealth Games Opening Day

Updated - 23 May 2024, 11:53 AM

Ausw vs NzW
Australia Women's Cricket team (Image Credits: Twitter)

As confirmed by the Commowealth Games Federation (CGF) last year, women’s T20 cricket is set to get underway in the 2022 Commonwealth Games in Birmingham. The eight-team competition will begin on June 29 – the opening day of the multi-discipline sporting event which features 19 sports.

The 2022 Commonwealth Games will see a total of 19 sports being played over 11 days from July 29 and August 8. The women’s T20 cricket event will run till August 7 with the top three teams expected to given podium finishes.

West indies Women,England Women
England Women [Photo-BBC]

Cricket has not been a regular feature in the Games. It was last played in the marquee global event during the 1998 edition which was held in Kuala Lumpur. It was however a 50-over men’s cricket competition where South Africa and Australia contested in the final clash. The teams had some big names in form of Jacques Kallis, Ricky Ponting Adam Gilchrist and the Waugh brothers.

South Africa had clinched the gold medal in that competition.

Gautam Gambhir, T20 World Cup, India Women's Team, India
India Women’s Team. (Photo: Twitter)

“This is a truly historic moment for women’s cricket and for the global cricket community, who were united in their support of this bid,” Manu Sawhney, Chief Executive of the International Cricket Council (ICC) had earlier said in a media statement.

“Women’s cricket continues to go from strength to strength, and we are delighted and honoured the Commonwealth Games Associations voted to include Women’s T20 cricket at Birmingham 2022.”

“Fast and exciting, the T20 format is the perfect fit for the Commonwealth Games and offers another chance to showcase women’s cricket on the global stage as part of our ambitious plans to accelerate the growth of the game, whilst inspiring the next generation of cricketers.  All the players who are lucky enough to compete at Birmingham 2022 will be part of a truly memorable experience.”

Australia are currently the champions in Women’s T20 format.