IND vs ENG: Rohit Sharma One Win Away From Equalling Ricky Ponting's Record As Captain

Published - 10 Jul 2022, 12:40 PM

Rohit Sharma
Rohit Sharma. (Photo: Twitter)

After leading the Men in Blue to victory in the three-match T20I series against England, Rohit Sharma is enjoying his success as India’s captain. India took a commanding 2-0 lead over England on Saturday after defeating England by 49 runs in the second match at Edgbaston. 

It was Rohit’s 19th straight triumph as captain. If India completes a series sweep on Sunday (July 10), Rohit would be able to tie Ricky Ponting, the former captain of Australia, for the most consecutive victories as captain in men’s international cricket with 20 triumphs in 2003. 

Hardik Pandya, Rohit Sharma
Hardik Pandya, Rohit Sharma. (Photo: Twitter)

Rohit Sharma On Streak Of 19 Consecutive Wins As Captain

As the T20I skipper with the most victories in a row, Rohit already holds the record. When he led India against Bangladesh in 2019, the winning run began. Rohit has now led his team to 19 straight victories across all forms, 14 of which have come in T20 Internationals. 

Rohit Sharma Jos Buttler
Rohit Sharma and Jos Buttler. Image: BCCI/Twitter

After Virat Kohli resigned as T20I captain and was fired as ODI captain last year, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) named Rohit as white-ball leader. After Kohli gave over the reins for the longest format in January 2022, Rohit was also given control of the Test team. 

For the home T20I series against South Africa, Rohit was rested. After being tested positive for Covid-19, he was able to rejoin the team but was unable to play in the fifth Test against England that was postponed for last week. The BCCI appointed Jasprit Bumrah to captain the squad in his absence. By defeating India by seven wickets, England evened the five-test series. 

Rohit Sharma Rested For Series Against West Indies

Indian Opener Rohit Sharma and Shikhar Dhawan
Rohit Sharma and Shikhar Dhawan (Image Credits: Twitter)

For the ODI series against the West Indies later this month, the BCCI has once again rested Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, and Rishabh Pant. Shikhar Dhawan will lead the team in the three-match series, according to the Indian Cricket Board. 

India’s squad for 3 ODIs: Shikhar Dhawan (Captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, Deepak Hooda, Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Ishan Kishan (wk), Sanju Samson (wk), Ravindra Jadeja (vice-captain), Shardul Thakur, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Avesh Khan, Prasidh Krishna, Mohd Siraj, Arshdeep Singh. 

Also Read: Virat Kohli Reveals How Playing In IPL Influenced His Life And Helped Him Move In A Progressive Manner