India vs Ireland 2nd T20I Preview
Photo Credit: (Getty Images)

India takes on Ireland in the second T20I on June 28 in Dublin. They won the first game which was a shortened game by seven wickets and are leading 1-0. They look good to clean sweep the Irish side. The BCCI and the Ireland Cricket Board both have announced their squads for the short series. India will be led by Hardik Pandya while the Irish side will be led by Andrew Balbirnie.

India and Ireland have now played four T20Is between themselves with India winning all the four games. Rain played a spoilsport in the first game which saw overs being reduced. It was a 12-overs per-side game and India won the game with 16 balls to spare. 

Hardik Pandya
Hardik Pandya. (Photo: Twitter)

IND vs IRE: Match Preview – India Tour Of Ireland 2022, 2nd T20I


Deepak Hooda-Dinesh Karthik
Photo Credit: (Getty Images)

It was a good game for the Indian team who ticked all the boxes. Hardik Pandya won his first toss as captain. He also became the first Indian captain to take a wicket on his debut game as the leader of the side. Umran Malik made his debut in the last game. Though he bowled just one over for 14 runs, his pace was on the show which unsettled the Irish batsmen.

There is room for experiment in the Indian camp heading into the second T20I. It will be interesting to see if Ardhdeep Singh is given a game in the second T20I.  India chased 109 required to win with enough overs to spare. Deepak Hooda scored an unbeaten 47 with Ishan Kishan (26) and Hardik Pandya (24) also getting runs. Dinesh Karthik was unbeaten on 5.

India Squad 

Hardik Pandya (c), Bhuvneshwar Kumar (VC), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ishan Kishan, Suryakumar Yadav, Sanju Samson, Rahul Tripathi, Deepak Hooda, Venkatesh Iyer, Axar Patel, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Avesh Khan, Harshal Patel, Umran Malik, Arshdeep Singh, Yuzvendra Chahal, Ravi Bishnoi


Harry Tector
Photo Credit: (Getty Images)

Ireland put up a good score on the board after losing three early wickets inside the powerplay. Harry Tector scored his highest T20I score to take The Irish side to a competitive total. He along with Lorcan Tucker (18) added a crucial 50-run stand to take Ireland to a score of respectability. Paul Stirling (4) skipper Andrew Balbirnie (0) and Gareth Delany all were out for low scores.

This is something that all these experienced batters would like to improve on in the second T20I. They need to give their bowlers a total of around 150 to make a match of it. The batting in the first game was below par barring Tector’s innings. 

Ireland Squad

Andrew Balbirnie (c), Harry Tector, Gareth Delany, Paul Stirling, Curtis Campher, Stephen Doheny, Lorcan Tucker, Mark Adair, George Dockrell, Joshua Little, Andy McBrine, Barry McCarthy, Conor Olphert, Craig Young

Also Read: IRE vs IND: Hardik Pandya Becomes First Indian Captain To Pick A Wicket In T20 Internationals

Anshuman Roy

A Hardcore Cricket Enthusiast Having Previously Worked With Cricwizz, Circle of Cricket, Times Now, The Quint, Cricfit and Now With Cricket Addictor.