Complete List Of All The Players Retained In IPL 2022 Retention

IPL 2022 Mega Auction Date And Time, Target Players, New Teams Lucknow And Ahmedabad, Players List
IPL 2022 Mega Auction. Image Credits: Twitter

The IPL 2022 retention list is out with most of the teams having retained four players, which was the maximum limit set by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI).

The IPL 2022 will see the addition of two new franchises (from Ahmedabad and Lucknow). The majority of players will go under the hammer which brings another grand auction in the cash-rich league, just like the one in IPL 2011.

MS Dhoni, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli retained

Defending champions Chennai Super Kings have retained their iconic skipper MS Dhoni along with opener Ruturaj Gaikwad, all-rounders Moeen Ali and Ravindra Jadeja.

MS Dhoni and Ravindra Jadeja
MS Dhoni and Ravindra Jadeja (Image Credit: IANS)

Delhi Capitals went with Rishabh Pant as their captain instead of Shreyas Iyer. Opener Prithvi Shaw, all-rounder Axar Patel and pace bowler Anrich Nortje are the other retentions made by the franchise.

Five-time IPL champions Mumbai Indians have kept all their star players with Rohit Sharma, Kieron Pollard and Jasprit Bumrah being the obvious choice.

Suryakumar Yadav was picked ahead of Ishan Kishan, separating the young duo, who played together since 2018 for Mumbai Indians.

Virat Kohli, Glenn Maxwell and Mohammed Siraj have been retained by Royal Challengers Bangalore while Punjab Kings have named Mayank Agarwal and Arshdeep Singh.

Virat Kohli and Glenn Maxwell
Virat Kohli and Glenn Maxwell (Image Credit: Twitter)

David Warner released, Kane Williamson, to continue to lead

Rajasthan Royals will continue with Sanju Samson as the team skipper with Jos Buttler and Yashasvi Jaiswal being the other players to be retained by the franchise for IPL 2022.

It was pretty clear that David Warner would not be retained by the franchise after how things folded up by the end of IPL 2021 between him and the team management.

Hence, the franchise will continue with Williamson as their leader even though they had to let Rashid Khan go, who wanted to be their number one retention. The Orange Army has also retained young guns like Umran Malik and Abdul Samad.

There will be a massive reshuffle of players as teams are allowed to retain not more than four players subject to the salary price tagged by BCCI.

According to BCCI’s retention policy, the salary of each player in case a team retains four players – Rs 16 crore for Player 1, Rs 12 crore for Player 2, Rs 8 crore for Player 3 and Rs 6 crore for Player 4.

This means a total of Rs 42 crore will be deducted from the team’s purse before they enter the mega auction of IPL 2022.

If a franchisee wishes to retain three players, then the salary of each player in case a team retains three players – Rs 15 crore for Player 1, Rs 11 crore for Player 2 and Rs 7 crore for Player 3.

List of players retained by all eight IPL teams:

Chennai Super Kings (CSK)– Ravindra Jadeja (16 cr), MS Dhoni (12 cr), Moeen Ali (8cr), and Ruturaj Gaikwad (6cr)

Delhi Capitals (DC)– Rishabh Pant (16cr), Axar Patel (9cr), Prithvi Shaw (7.5cr),  and Anrich Nortje (6.5cr)

Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR)– Andre Russell (12cr), Venkatesh Iyer (8cr), Varun Chakravarthy (8cr), and Sunil Narine (6cr)

Mumbai Indians (MI)– Rohit Sharma (16cr), Jasprit Bumrah (12cr), Suryakumar Yadav (8cr), and Kieron Pollard (6cr)

Punjab Kings (PBKS)– Mayank Agarwal (14cr), and Arshdeep Singh (4cr)

Rajasthan Royals (RR)– Sanju Samson (14cr), Jos Buttler (10cr), and Yashasvi Jaiswal (4cr)

Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB)– Virat Kohli (15cr), Glenn Maxwell (11cr), and Mohammed Siraj (7cr).

SunRisers Hyderabad (SRH)– Kane Williamson (14cr), Umran Malik (4cr) and Abdul Samad (4cr).

Also Read: Ben Stokes And Jofra Archer Released By Rajasthan Royals (RR) In IPL 2022 Retention

Related Posts