IPL 2022 Mega Auction Date And Time, Target Players, New Teams Lucknow And Ahmedabad, Players List
IPL 2022 Mega Auction. Image Credits: Twitter

The IPL 2022 Mega Auction will take place in Bangalore on February 12 and 13. A total of 10 teams will go head to head for some of the biggest players that are set to go under the hammer.

The initial dates for the auction were understood to be around February 7 and 8, but reports from Cricbuzz have confirmed that the IPL officials held talks with the respective franchises and after a lot of deliberation, came to the conclusion that the auction will be held on February 12 and 13 in Bangalore.

This time, two new teams from Lucknow and Ahmedabad will also contest the auction and they will have the liberty to select three players each from the pool of available players before going into the mega auction. The bid for the Ahmedabad team was won by CVC Capital Partners while that for the Lucknow Team was won by the RPSG Group.

Some Big players will go under the hammer at the IPL 2022 Mega Auction

Harshal Patel
Harshal Patel (Image: Twitter)

All the other eight teams had time till November 30 to submit their list of retained players going into the IPL 2022 Mega Auction. The Royal Challengers Bangalore retained the likes of Virat Kohli, Glenn Maxwell and Mohammed Siraj and surprisingly left out Purple Cap winner Harshal Patel. Harshal is likely to go for big money in the IPL 2022 Mega auction.

Mumbai Indians have arguably been the best IPL team of the previous three-year cycle and had a huge headache when it came to choosing four players from a roster of world-class talent. But they retained the likes of Rohit Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah, Suryakumar Yadav and Kieron Pollard. Notable big-name absentees from the retention list included Hardik Pandya and Ishan Kishan who will certainly attract a lot of attention in the auction.

The Punjab Kings had a disappointing campaign last season and wanting to start on a fresh note, retained only two players – Mayank Agarwal and Arshdeep Singh. They tried their best to convince KL Rahul to stay but the Punjab captain wanted to go back into the auction pool.

The defending champions Chennai Super Kings also had a plethora of options to choose from and they had no hesitation in retaining Ravindra Jadeja and MS Dhoni for big money. They also retained all-rounder Moeen Ali and star batsman Ruturaj Gaikwad who won the Orange Cap in the IPL 2021 season.

The Rajasthan Royals shocked one and all with their exclusion of Jofra Archer and Ben Stokes while selecting their retentions. They showed faith in skipper Sanju Samson and also retained the explosive opening duo of Jos Buttler and Yashasvi Jaiswal.

Sunrisers Hyderabad couldn’t negotiate the right price for Rashid Khan and thus had to let him go back into the auction pool. They have retained Kane Williamson and the young duo of Umran Malik and all-rounder Abdul Samad, leaving out the prolific David Warner too.

Rashid Khan and David Warner, SunRisers Hyderabad
Rashid Khan and David Warner. Image Credits: Twitter

The Delhi Capitals also had a problem of plenty when it came to player retentions and thus banked on the likes of Rishabh Pant, Prithvi Shaw, Axar Patel, and Anrich Nortje to rebuild their team for the future. Big names like Shikhar Dhawan and Shreyas Iyer will also grab a lot of attention in the auction.

The Kolkata Knight Riders have once again banked on their West Indian duo of Andre Russell and Sunil Narine to deliver the goods in future for them. They have also retained the breakout star of the IPL 2021 season Venkatesh Iyer and mystery spinner Varun Chakravarthy, forming a good core to build on.