Virat Kohli, MS Dhoni, IPL 2021
Virat Kohli, MS Dhoni. Image Credits: BCCI

MS Dhoni is on the verge of setting a massive T20 record. Dhoni needs six more runs to become only the second skipper in the T20 cricket to score 6,000 or more runs, following Virat Kohli.

After Ravindra Jadeja opted to step down as captain of the Chennai Super Kings (CSK) in the upcoming India Premier League (IPL) 2022, Dhoni stepped back into the role.

MS Dhoni, Ravindra Jadeja
MS Dhoni, Ravindra Jadeja. (Photo: IPL)

CSK’s spell as captain didn’t go as planned, as they suffered consecutive losses, dropping them to the bottom half of the IPL 2022 Points Table. CSK can be anticipated to be at their dangerous best now that Dhoni is back at the helm, as evidenced by their excellent 13-run win over SRH in their last match.

With Dhoni’s comeback as captain, he stands a good chance of breaking some records with the bat. After Virat Kohli, the former Indian captain needs 6 more runs to become only the second skipper in T20 cricket to score 6000 or more runs.

MS Dhoni
MS Dhoni (Image Credits: Twitter)

Dhoni has 5994 runs (at an average of 38.67) in 301 matches (185 innings), with 23 fifties. Kohli has 6451 runs at an average of 43.29 in 190 matches, including 5 hundreds and 48 fifties (185 innings).

Kohli and Dhoni are followed by Rohit Sharma, the captain of Team India, and the Mumbai Indians (MI). Rohit has 4721 runs at a strike rate of 31.05.

 MS Dhoni’s CSK will play RCB for the second time this season:

The Royal Challengers Bangalore will face Chennai Super Kings for the second time in the Tata IPL this season in the forty-ninth encounter.

The Royal Challengers Bangalore are presently ranked fifth in the Tata IPL standings this season, while the Chennai Super Kings are ranked ninth.

CSK vs RCB. Image: IPL

This season of the Tata IPL saw Royal Challengers Bangalore play ten games and win five, while Chennai Super Kings played nine games and won three.

Chennai Super Kings defeated RCB by 23 runs in their previous match this season.

Also Read: Sri Lanka Announce 18-Man Squad For Bangladesh Test Series