Tom Moody, the Sunrisers Hyderabad coach, was not pleased with Kane Williamson’s catch. After replays revealed that the catch wasn’t taken to Devdutt Padikkal, he slammed the TV umpiring in the game.
In their first encounter in Pune, SRH was defeated by Rajasthan Royals by 61 runs.
The contentious dismissal of SRH skipper Kane Williamson during Hyderabad’s chase in the second innings of the match was one of the game’s biggest talking points.
Young pacer Prasidh Krishna deceived Williamson with a beauty of delivery, as the SRH skipper edged the ball, but RR captain Sanju Samson failed to hold the ball as it slid out of his gloves before being caught at slips by Devdutt Padikkal. The ball had rebounded after striking Samson’s gloves, and Padikkal had retrieved it and dived forward.
Because the on-field umpire was unsure about the ball reaching the ground first, he referred the decision to the TV umpire. KN Anantha Padmanabhan, the third umpire, was heavily criticized for his controversial decision, which resulted in Williamson’s dismissal.
Tom Moody was shocked by Kane Williamson’s dismissal:
SunRisers Hyderabad head coach Tom Moody expressed shock after Kane Williamson’s contentious dismissal, saying that the umpire’s decision to disqualify the SRH skipper despite the ball reaching the ground “surprised” his squad.
“We were astounded that it was given out, especially after seeing the replay. I understand the on-field umpires taking it upstairs, and we saw the proof when that happened. We’re not umpires, but it appeared to us that the decision had been made rather clearly “In a post-game press conference, Moody remarked.
SunRisers Hyderabad was defeated by Rajasthan Royals (RR) by 61 runs after scoring only 149/7 in response to a target of 211.