India National Cricket Team
Image Credits: Twitter
Prev1 of 11

India takes on New Zealand in the second ODI in Raipur on January 21. This is the first-ever international match at this venue. Team India are leading the series 1-0 after winning the first ODI in Hyderabad. This is a must-win match for the Kiwis to keep the series alive. Another win for India would ensure their second ODI series win of 2023. The series continues the preparations for both teams for the ODI World Cup

The second and third ODI will be played in Raipur (January 21) and Indore (January 24). Both teams then play a three-match T20I series. The T20Is will be played in Ranchi (January 27), Lucknow (January 29), and Ahmedabad (February 1) respectively.

IPL 2023 | New Zealand tour of India 2023 | Dream11 Prediction | Fantasy Cricket Tips | Cricket Match Prediction Today | Cricket News | Cricket Live Score Australia tour of India 2023

Shreyas Iyer (Getty Images)
Shreyas Iyer (Getty Images)
Both teams have announced their ODI squads. Rohit Sharma will lead the Men in Blue while Tom Latham will lead the Kiwis. Most of the players who played in the ODI series against Sri Lanka have been named for the series against New Zealand

India are missing Shreyas Iyer who is ruled out with a back injury. They are also missing KL Rahul and Axar Patel who have decided to skip the series due to personal reasons. Jasprit Bumrah and Ravindra Jadeja are still recovering from injury. 

IPL 2023 | India National Cricket Team | IND vs NZ 2023 | India vs New Zealand 2023 | IND vs AUS 2023 | India vs Australia 2023

Shubman Gill-Michael Bracewell
Photo Credit: (Twitter)

Shubman Gill took the honors of the first ODI on the back of his magnificent main double ton. His innings was almost a single-handed effort to take India to the score of 3549. Mohammed Siraj stepped up with the ball as he took 4/46 and played a key role in India”s win. Kuldeep Yadav and Shardul Thakur took two each. 

The hosts are likely to go in with the same XI given that they won the first ODI. The side seems to be favouring the sixth bowling option with Hardik Pandya, Washington Sundar and Shardul Thakur sharding the overs. The combination also gives the side the batting depth with Thakur batting at number 8.

India vs New Zealand: IND Playing 11 for NZ, 2nd ODI

Rohit Sharma (C)

Rohit Sharma
Rohit Sharma (PC-AP)

Rohit Sharma will continue to open the batting in the second ODI. He scored 83 to kick off 2023 in the very first innings against Sri Lanka. In the first ODI against New Zealand, he scored 34 off 38 balls and added a 60-run stand with Shubman Gill. Rohit has not been included in the T20I series against the Kiwis. He struggled to score runs across formats in 2022 scoring 249 runs in 8 ODIs last year.

Also Read: India vs New Zealand Head-to-Head In ODIs, 2nd ODI India vs New Zealand Head to Head Record ODIs, 2023

Prev1 of 11

Anshuman Roy

A Hardcore Cricket Enthusiast Having Previously Worked With Cricwizz, Circle of Cricket, Times Now, The Quint, Cricfit and Now With Cricket Addictor.