Twitter Reacts As Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill Help India Beat New Zealand In 3rd ODI In Indore And Become World No.1 ODI Team

Updated - 24 Jan 2023, 10:44 PM

Twitter Reacts As Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill Help India Beat New Zealand In 3rd ODI In Indore And Become World No.1 ODI Team
Twitter Reacts As Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill Help India Beat New Zealand In 3rd ODI In Indore And Become World No.1 ODI Team

The third and dead rubber ODI of the three-match series between the Rohit Sharma-led India National Cricket Team and the Tom Latham-led New Zealand National Cricket Team was played at the Holkar Cricket Stadium in Indore on Tuesday, January 24.

India National Cricket Team defeated New Zealand National Cricket Team by 90 runs in the match to whitewash the visitors 3-0. Also, India have dethroned England to become the No.1 team in the ICC Men’s ODI Team Rankings. The teams will next go head-to-head in a three-match T20I series. The T20Is will be played on January 27, 29 and February 1 in Ranchi, Lucknow and Ahmedabad respectively.

IPL 2023 | New Zealand tour of India 2023 | Dream11 Prediction | Fantasy Cricket Tips | Cricket Match Prediction Today | Cricket News | Cricket Live Score | Australia tour of India 2023

New Zealand National Cricket Team won the toss and elected to bowl first in the match. The BlackCaps made one change to the playing XI by replacing Jacob Duffy with Shipley.

India National Cricket Team, on the other hand, made two changes to the playing XI as Umran Malik and Yuzvendra Chahal replaced Mohammed Shami and Mohammed Siraj.

IPL 2023 | India National Cricket Team | IND vs NZ 2023 | India vs New Zealand 2023 | IND vs AUS 2023 | India vs Australia 2023

Rohit Sharma
Rohit Sharma (PC- BCCI)

Batting first, Rohit Sharma and Shubman Gill once again provided their side with an absolutely outstanding start in the match. The openers played an attacking brand of cricket and completed 50 runs partnership in 45 balls and 100 runs partnership in 76 balls.

Shubman Gill, who once again showed that he has a wide range of shots, reached the half-century milestone off just 33 balls, with 8 fours and 2 sixes. Also, Rohit Sharma played some of the most beautiful-looking strokes and reached the 50-run milestone off just 41 balls, with 4 fours and 4 sixes.

The duo completed the 150 runs stand in 107 balls and 200 runs stand in 145 balls. Rohit smashed the century off 83 balls and it was his first international century after 507 days. Overall, he scored 101 runs off 85 balls, including 9 fours and 6 sixes, before being dismissed by Michael Bracewell on the first ball of the 27th over.

Shubman Gill, meanwhile, completed his century off 72 balls and overall, he smashed 112 runs off 78 balls, including 13 fours and 5 sixes, before being cleaned up by Blair Tickner on the last ball of the 28th over.

Shubman Gill (PC-AP)

New Zealand made a spectacular comeback in the match as they reduced India from 212/0 to 313/6. Virat Kohli and Ishan Kishan scored 36 and 17 runs respectively while Suryakumar Yadav and Washington Sundar registered 14 and 9 runs.

Then, Shardul Thakur and Hardik Pandya led India to recovery by stitching together 54 runs in 34 balls. Hardik scored 54 runs off 38 balls and Shardul scored 25 runs off 17 balls.

In the end, the Men In Blue managed to post 385/9 in 50 overs. At one point it looked like 400-plus was easily possible, but Kiwi bowlers dismissed the batters at regular intervals and made sure that the Men In Blue don’t touch the 400-mark on the batting-friendly surface.

Chasing the target, Finn Allen got out for a duck in the first over itself, which was bowled by Hardik Pandya. However, Devon Conway and Henry Nicholls didn’t let their side sink further as they stitched up 106 runs in 87 balls, before the latter’s dismissal for 42 in the 15th over, which was bowled by Kuldeep Yadav.

The left-handed batter Conway, who was struggling with cramps, completed his remarkable ton off just 71 balls, with 7 fours and 7 sixes.

As New Zealand were looking to get into the dominant position in the match during the run-chase, ‘lord’ Shardul Thakur, who is labelled by many as the partnership breaker of the side, came to bowl and picked three back-to-back wickets, dismissing Daryl Mitchell, Tom Latham and Glenn Phillips.

Devon Conway, who was well set, was looking dangerous out in the middle after scoring a ton, but Umran Malik made sure that he doesn’t do any more damage and cleaned him up on the 32nd over. He scored 138 runs off 100 balls, including 12 fours and 8 sixes, before getting out.

In the end, Mitchell Santner and Michael Bracewell played good knocks, but it wasn’t enough for the BlackCaps to win the match and the Kiwis were bundled out for 295 in 41.2 overs.

India vs New Zealand 3rd ODI 2023
Rohit Sharma, Tom Latham. Image Credits: (BCCI)

Here’s How Twitter Reacted To India vs New Zealand 3rd ODI:

Also Read: “New Beast Of World Cricket” – Twitter Erupts As Shubman Gill smashes A Sensational Century vs New Zealand In Indore ODI 

Virat Kohli | Rohit Sharma | Rishabh Pant | KL Rahul | Suryakumar Yadav | Sanju Samson | Shreyas Iyer | Yuzvendra Chahal | Jasprit Bumrah




Glenn Phillips Hardik Pandya Henry Nicholls IND vs NZ 2023 India National Cricket Team Ishan Kishan Kuldeep Yadav Lockie Ferguson Michael Bracewell New Zealand national cricket team New Zealand tour of India 2023 Rohit Sharma Shubman Gill Suryakumar Yadav Tom Latham Umran Malik Virat Kohli Washington Sundar Yuzvendra Chahal